Login to LibApps

Primary Sources: Oral History

This guide will provide access and links to the substantial and ever-growing wealth of primary sources available through ASU Library or freely-accessible through the Internet
Subjects: History

Oral History Associations

The Oral History Association seeks to bring together all persons interested in oral history as a way of collecting and interpreting human memories to foster knowledge and human dignity.

The International Oral History Association provides a forum for oral historians around the world and a means for cooperation among those concerned with documentation and interpretation of human experience.

Oral History Journals

Oral History Review a journal for the theory and practice of oral history and related fields.

Words and Silences the journal of the International Oral History Association. This link will take you to the TOC of vol 6, no.1, the first online volume; however, the library does not have a subscription to the journal. It may be possible to ILL articles.

Oral History Collections

The Columbia University Center for Oral History (CCOH) archive holds more than 8,000 interviews, in audio, video and text formats, on a wide varitey of  subjects.

National Archives and Records holds many oral history transcripts and audio files including the Nixon Tapes, the Senate Oral History Project and others.

Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History (University of Kentucky Libraries) home to the Appalachia Oral History Collection among others.

Online Archive of California. An excellent site that provides access to several important California collections covering among other topics the Free Speech Movement, Japanese-American Relocation, and California oral histories.

Regional Oral History Office - UC-Berkeley  As a division of The Bancroft Library, the Regional Oral History Office preserves the history of the San Francisco Bay Area, California, and the Western United States. By conducting carefully researched, tape-recorded, and transcribed interviews, ROHO creates archival oral histories intended for the widest possible use.

The Smithsonian has several collections of oral history at various of its museums.

Hours and Locations