Patents
Look Who Has a Patent!
Method and means for creating anti-gravity illusion
Michael J. Jackson
Michael L. Bush
Dennis Tompkins
_________________
US #4753647
Infant Garment
Jamie L. Curtis
______________
US #4656917
Musical Instrument Support
Famous Patents, Inventors, and Other Interesting Stuff
These books and websites are generally just listings without details. Tables are useful for finding quickly "who did what", while timelines place the invention within a historical context. Some items listed under Biographies and Descriptions contain timelines. Items are international in scope unless noted otherwise.
- American Experience: Technology Timeline 1752-1990 (PBS)
Chronological list of important discoveries and inventions (U.S. only). Includes a brief description of the discovery/invention and who discovered/invented it. Interactive (requires FLASH) and text versions.
- History of Invention in the Arts
A timeline of "firsts" for the arts and entertainment area, from the pre-classical era to the present. From paints, dyes, parchment and paper to animated films, rock and roll music, and emoticons, this list covers a huge range of diverse items. Many entries include links to more information on the item. Be aware: the author of this page sometimes includes his personal opinions on the listed items.
- Innovation Timeline (Great Idea Finder)
From B.C. to the 2000s (last entry is 2006).
- Inventions and Patents of African-Americans - 19th Century (St. Louis Public Library)
List is arranged alphabetically by inventions; includes inventor name, patent # and date of issuance. U.S. only.
- Inventions and Patents of African-Americans - 20th Century (St Louis Public Library)
List is arranged alphabetically by inventions; includes inventor name, patent # and date of issuance. U.S. only.
- Kids Stuff: Inventions and Discoveries (Christchurch City Libraries, New Zealand)
Alphabetical lists by inventor and invention plus categorized in groups (communication, household, medicine, transportation). Note: The links to more information will not work unless you are a member of the Christchurch City Libraries.
- Wikpedia: Inventors
For more information about an inventor and/or an invention, see these books and websites. All items are international in scope unless stated otherwise.
- National Inventors Hall of Fame
Short biographies for over 500 individuals who have been inducted in the Hall of Fame. Although "national" is in the name, many of these individuals either were born and/or resided in other countries. What they have in common are technological advancement benefiting the U.S. and U.S. Patent holdings. The database can be searched by Category (last name, year inducted, academic institution, company, state/province, country) or Keyword.
- About.com
- Inventor Archive (Lemelson-MIT)
Biographical profiles of great inventors, both historical and more recent.
- Inventor Biography (Great Idean Finder)
Many of the biographies include links to other sources of information (books, websites) about the inventor.
Inventions and InventorsISBN: 9781587650161Publication date: 2001160 of the most significant inventions of the 20th century and the people behind the inventions.
Websites
- African American Inventors (Smithsonian)
A selected annotated bibliography on African American inventors. Only print material is listed.
- Inventors and Inventions (Library of Congress)
Digital collections of famous inventors or inventions; the content of each collection varies but may include newspaper and journal articles, images, personal documents, images and other types of material.
- Women of Invention (Library of Congress, Science Reference Guide)
List of books and websites about women inventors.
Books
Biographical Dictionary of the History of Technology by Call number: T39 .B49 1996Publication date: 1995
Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors by Call number: Q141 .S54 1999Publication date: 1998Profiles 200 men and women who changed the world by leaving lasting legacies in their fields. Each entry contains a timeline and a bibliography of thire most important works. A master timeline chronicling major events in scientific exploration is also included.
To Fathom More by Call number: Q141 .J46 1996Publication date: 1996Profiles of 17 individuals and their contributions to science, technology and medicine.
Films
- Ancient Discoveries
The modern world likes to think of itself as innovative but the classical world had already invented some of the things that were thought to be breakthroughs. From Heron of Alexandria and the invention of the first steam engine, to the tomb of a Roman surgeon that reveals exquisite tools used to perform eye surgery for the removal of cataracts, this six-part series explores a world more complex and more contemporary than we could ever imagine. 6-part series, 50 minutes each.
- The Genius of Invention: Ideas That Changed the World
12 inventions are explored to show how they have changed the way we live our lives. They explain how these inventions came about—from sparks of genius to steady incremental improvements hammered out in workshops—and separate myth from reality in the lives of the great inventors. The four-part series looks at communications, power, speed and the visual image. A BBC Production. 4-part series, 50 minutes each.
- Quirky Science
This 13-part series explores where science went awry and led to new discoveries and inventions. Each episode shows some past moments in science may seem crazy to us today, they made perfect sense at the time—and vice versa! It also shows how these moments led either to a breakthrough in understanding or to a new product. 13-part series, 25 minutes each.
Fun & Games
Activities:
- Kids Pages (USPTO)
Funny Patents
- Crazy Patents*
- Funny Patents and Inventions*
- Patently Silly*
- Wacky Patent of the Month
- Weird and Wonderful Patents*
*Not kept up-to-date.
Patent No. 135,089
Sylvanus Cox & William W. Fanning
School Desk
January 21, 1873
(SI neg. 86-6164)
From 1790 until 1880, the USPTO required a small-scaled model of the invention be submitted along with the patent application. The 1836 fire in the Patent Office destroyed all the models and much of the patent documentation; a restoration project, in place through 1849, replaced some of this material. A second fire in 1877 destroyed almost 40% of the model collection existing at that time.
Originally the Patent Office kept these models on display but because of space restrictions parts of the collection continually had to be put in storage; by the end of 1893 the complete collection was crated and no longer available to the public. The Smithsonian selected some models for its American History Collection, some were given away to universities, museums, or inventor's descendants and, starting in 1926, the remainder was auctioned off. (1)
The two biggest collections of U.S. patent models are the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History (1) and private collector, Alan Rothschild (2).
References:
(1) Janssen, Barbara Suit. Patent Models Index: A Guide to the Collections of the National Muesum of American History, Smithsonian Institution. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Scholarly Press, 2010. Smithsonian Contributions to History and Technology, no. 54.
Information about U.S. Patent models and photographs of the two models displayed on this page are from this index.
(2) Rothschild Petersen Patent Model Museum
Patent No. 118,435
George P. Clarke
Naturally Creeping Baby Dolls
August 29, 1871
(SI neg. 86-6160)
Look Who Has a Patent!
US #121992
Improvement in Adjustable and Detachable Straps for Garments
Samuel Clemens
___________________
US #6469
Bouying Vessels Over Shoals
Abraham Lincoln
Book: Lincoln, the Inventor
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
