Login to LibApps

Music - Subject Guides: Online Resources

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.
Subjects: Music

Online Resources

Ethnomusicology OnLine

Ethnomusicology OnLine is an online peer-reviewed multimedia web journal. "Issues" are put out annually. Although several articles exist, this journal consists primarily of reviews of books, compact discs, software, and web sites. The review indices are searchable by author, geographical region, or by map.

 

Indiana University’s William and Gayle Cook Music Library Ethnomusicology Resources

This site connects 109 links to various world-music retailers, institutions, guides, and personal web pages. The sites are grouped by region or lumped into the "Ethnomusicology Resources" category. The links provide a good starting place for exploring ethnomusicology on the internet.

  

International Index to Music Periodicals, Full Tex Edition (IIMP)

This database accesses over 370 international music periodicals for more than 20 countries, with 60 full text titles. All full text records provide an abstract. Obituaries and feature music articles from the New York Times and The Washington Post are available.

  

JSTOR

Includes longruns of backfiles of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Sociology. Collection includes Full-text from the JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through IV, JSTOR Arts & Sciences Complement, JSTOR Biological SciencesCollection, JSTOR Business II Collections, JSTOR Ecology and Botany, JSTOR Health and General Sciences Collection, and JSTOR Music collections

   

Music Index Online

This database provides music coverage of journal articles, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, first performances, and obituaries. The dates range from 1979 to 1998 and it is updated quarterly. Over 640 international music periodicals are covered.

  

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library, an online music listening service, is a comprehensive collection of classical music. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.

   

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2d edition; 29 volumes); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes); The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2d edition; 3 volumes); The Oxford Dictionary of Music; and The Oxford Companion to Music

   

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

This database indexes music literature from conference proceedings, books, articles, dissertations, festschrif ten, catalogues, and bibliographies. Coverage is from 1969 to present, with an international geographic scope.

   

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

A streaming online music database and fully searchable resource. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, it provides an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. The interface enables patrons to organize, create, save and share their own selections of music.

 

The American Folklife Center

The collections of the Library of Conress American Folklife Center include Native American song and dance; ancient English ballads; the tales of "Bruh Rabbit," told in the Gullah dialect of the Georgia Sea Islands; the stories of ex-slaves, told while still vivid in the minds of those who endured one of the most harrowing periods of American history; an Appalachian fiddle tune that has been heard on concert stages around the world; a Cambodian wedding in Lowell, Massachusetts; a Saint Joseph's Day Table tradition in Pueblo, Colorado; Balinese Gamelan music recorded shortly before the Second World War; documentation from the lives of cowboys, farmers, fishermen, coal miners, shop keepers, factory workers, quilt makers, professional and amateur musicians, and housewives from throughout the United States; first-hand accounts of community events from every state; and international collections from every region of the world.

 

University of Washington’s Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music Links

This site contains links to organizations, institutions, periodicals, recording labels and distributors, and sites organized by geographic regions. The amount of material available through this site is enormous. It is an excellent place to start an online search.

 

 

 

Hours and Locations