Login to LibApps

Music - Subject Guides: Bibliographies/Répertoire Guides

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.
Subjects: Music

Bibliographies/Répertoire Guides (Art Song)

Barlow, Harold. A Dictionary of Opera and Song Themes: Including Cantatas, Oratorios, Lieder, and Art songs. Rev. ed. New York: Crown Publishers, 1976.

ML128 .V7 B3 1976 MUSIC REFERENCE


A thematic index of material chosen by the compilers based on recordings made in the U.S. and Europe. The main section is arranged alphabetically by composer, and includes the musical notation and text of the first few measures. There is a notation index for identification of unknown themes, and a thorough index of titles and first lines.

Berry, Corre. Vocal Chamber Duets: An Annotated Bibliography. [S.l.]: National Association of Teachers of Singing, 1981.

ML128 .V7 B45 MUSIC REFERENCE


A comprehensive list of duets written primarily for performance in intimate surroundings. Excludes duets from opera and oratorios, and those for use in the church. Thoroughly indexed by accompaniments, voice combinations, composers and poets, titles and first lines.

Brusse, Corre Berry. Sacred Vocal Duets: An Annotated Bibliography. [Oberlin, OH?]: National Association of Teachers of Singing, 1987.

ML128 .S2 B77 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selective list of duets with sacred texts which can be used for either recitals or worship services. Thoroughly indexed by accompaniments, voice combinations, composers, titles and first lines.

Carman, Judith E. Art-Song in the United States, 1801-1987: An Annotated Bibliography. Jacksonville, FL: National Association of Teachers of Singing, 1987.

ML128 .S3 C37 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE

 

A bibliography of well over 2000 individual art songs by American composers. Arranged alphabetically by composer and then by song title. Each entry is annotated in extensive detail. An appendix includes songs with foreign language texts, or by composers who do not fit the criteria for inclusion in the main listing. Thorough indexing, including one for special characteristics. Also includes a special section covering the years 1759-1810.

Coffin, Berton. Singer's Repertoire. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1960-62. 2nd ed. 5 v.

ML128 .V7 C67 MUSIC REFERENCE


The first four volumes, divided by voice type, list recital material first by country of origin, then by type of song or special technique necessary. Includes arias, some duets and trios. A fifth volume, "Program notes", offers annotations and some translations of over 1,000 songs and arias in the basic repertoire.

Espina, Noni. Repertoire for the Solo Voice. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977. 2 v.

ML128 .S3 E8 MUSIC REFERENCE


An annotated guide to works for the solo voice, published in modern editions and covering material from the 13th century to the present. Largest section is an arrangement, by country, of solo voice literature. Includes a section of solo excerpts from opera, arranged by voice, then country of origin, and a listing of traditional songs and spirituals by country. Entries contains composer, title, publisher, source of poetry, voice range and tessitura, key, description of song and difficulty of accompaniment. Indicates whether item is in a collection or separately published. Source of text and composer indexes.

Kagen, Sergius. Music for the Voice. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1968. Rev. ed.

ML128 .V7 K3 1968 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selective listing of solo vocal material including art song, operatic arias and some folk songs. The selection is primarily intended for use in the United States so does not include material in non-major European languages which lack adequate English translations. The guide is divided into four main sections: 1) songs and arias before the 19th century; 2) songs of the 19th and 20th centuries; 3) folk songs; 4) operatic excerpts, arranged by voice type. Entries include key, range, tessitura, and remarks on style and voice requirements. Composer index.

Seaton, Douglass. The Art Song: A Reference and Information Guide. New York: Garland, 1987.

ML128.S3 S33 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE


A selected bibliography of books and articles on the art song. Covers wide range of material from historical and national styles, to individual composers and poets, song texts and translations, performance, and lists of songs and collections. Includes both author and subject indexes.

Solo Vocal Repertoire for Young Singers: An Annotated Bibliography. [S.l.]: National Association of Teachers of Singing, 1982.

ML128 .V7 S6x 1982 MUSIC REFERENCE


A repertoire guide aimed primarily at beginning teenagers. Includes folk songs, spirituals, old favorites and humorous songs as well as the classic art song. Annotations include degree of difficulty, ranges, usefulness code, and short comments. Includes special section of Christmas songs.

Stahl, Dorothy. Discography of Solo Song. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1968-1984.

ML156.4 .V7 S8 MUSIC REFERENCE


The first volume and subsequent supplements and cumulations list selected recordings of solo songs released through 1982. The first section is arranged alphabetically by composer with each song listed separately. The second section lists the releases indexed. Includes title and first line index, but no performer index.

Stewart-Green, Miriam. Women Composers: A Checklist of Works for the Solo Voice. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1980.

ML128 .V7 S83 MUSIC REFERENCE


A list of 3,746 women composers from 72 countries, dating from as early as 600 B.C. There are three General Lists which give the composers' names, nationality and dates. List I gives composers and song titles, List II gives song composers but no titles, and List III gives composers believed to have written songs. There are also separate sections for operas, cantatas, oratorios, masses, cycles, dramatic scenes, and with instruments other than the piano. Includes a bibliography and index.

 

 

Hours and Locations