Login to LibApps

Music - Subject Guides: Bibliography/Biography (A-L)

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.
Subjects: Music

Bibliography/Biography (A-L)

Block, Adrienne Fried. Women in American Music : A Bibliography of Music and Literature. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1979.

ML128 .W7 B6 MUSIC REFERENCE

A bibliography of the music and literature of American women musicians. The main body of the work is arranged in broad chronological groups. Within each group are sections covering literature about women in music and related arts, women as patrons, educators and performers, and the music itself. The main listing is preceded by shorter sections on reference materials, collected works and historical studies. Includes substantial author/composer index to music.

 

Boenke, Heidi M. Flute Music by Women Composers : An Annotated Catalog. New York: Greenwood, 1988.

ML128 .F7 B6 1988 MUSIC REFERENCE

A comprehensive catalog of music by women composers for solo flute or flute in ensemble. Includes compositions from over 40 countries and covering three centuries. Thoroughness of entries and annotations dependent on information available. Main listing alphabetical by composer. Includes title and instrumentation indexes.

 

Claghorn, Charles Eugene. Women Composers & Hymnists : A Concise Biographical Dictionary. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1984.

BV325 .C58 1984 MUSIC REFERENCE

A biographical dictionary of women hymnists and composers of church music, covering from the twelfth century to the present. Contains over 750 entries, with emphasis on American and English women. Includes index by country.

 

Cohen, Aaron I. International Encyclopedia of Women Composers. 2 vols. 2nd ed., rev. and enl. New York: Bowker, 1987.

ML105 .C7 1987 MUSIC REFERENCE

A comprehensive coverage of women composers of all periods and countries, 6195 entries in all. In addition to the main alphabetical listing, which includes biographical information and works lists, 14 separate appendices offer valuable supplementary information. Also includes extensive discography.

 

Contemporary Concert Music by Women : A Directory of the Composers and Their Works. Comp. and ed. by Judith Lang Zaimont and Karen Famera. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1981.

ML105 .Z34 MUSIC REFERENCE

Contains brief biographical sketches of around 80 contemporary women composers, mostly American, including photographs of most. In separate "List of Music" arranged by genre or medium of performance, subarranged alphabetically by composer/title, original works by members of the International League of Women Composers. The list includes information on instrumentation, author of text, composition date, duration, level of difficulty, and source of availability. Prize winning and recorded works are so indicated. Includes a discography, address lists of publishers, archives, composers, and record companies. Complete index.

 

Ericson, Margaret. Women and music : a selective annotated bibliography on women and gender issues in music, 1987-1992. New York : G.K. Hall, 1996.

ML128 .W7 E75 1996 MUSIC REFERENCE

International in scope, the bibliography includes books, articles, theses, conference papers, newspaper articles, as well as score and recording anthologies. Topical coverage is broad, including both Western and non-Western material, art music as well as jazz and popular music.

 

Fuller, Sophie. The Pandora guide to women composers : Britain and the United States 1629-present. San Francisco : Pandora, 1994.

ML390 .F94x 1994 MUSIC REFERENCE

Contains biographical essay on about 100 British and American composers. The essays are fairly substantial, but contain no listing of compositions.

 

Grattan, Virginia L. American women songwriters : a biographical dictionary. Westport CT : Greenwood Press, 1993.

ML106 .U3 G73 1993 MUSIC REFERENCE

Contains biographical sketches of women writers of popular song. Arranged according to the style of music, such as pop, rock, motion pictures, musicals, blues, jazz, country, etc. Each chapter is introduced by a brief historical background on the type of music.

 

Hixon, Donald L. Women in music : an encyclopedic biobibliography. 2nd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1975.

ML105 .H6 1993 MUSIC REFERENCE

A comprehensive index to biographical information on women musicians, covering all periods and countries. The main section is alphabetical by name, including place and date of birth and death, field of activity, and the biographical sources. Includes extensive listing by specialization.

 

Jackson, Barbara Garvey. Say can you deny me : a guide to surviving music by women from the 16th through the 18th centuries. Fayetteville, AR : University of Arkansas Press, 1994.

ML128 .W7 J3 1994 MUSIC REFERENCE

A guide to music by women of the renaissance, baroque, and classical periods of music. Includes the locations of original copies, as well as microfilms, photocopies, and published editions. Covers material in private collections as well as institutions.

 

Jezic, Diane. Women Composers : The Lost Tradition Found. New York: Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 1988.

ML390 .J37 1988 MUSIC STACKS

A guide to the lives and works of 25 women composers of Western art music from the eleventh century to the present. Substantial biographical information, musical analysis, and listing of works.

 

Johnson, Rose-Marie. Violin Music by Women Composers : A Bio-Bibliographical Guide. New York: Greenwood, 1989.

ML128 .W7 J63 1989 MUSIC REFERENCE

A bibliography of solo recital, concerto and chamber music literature by women, from the baroque to the 20th century. The arrangement is based on an index of the composers referring the user to the 3 main sections of the book: Biographies, Music, and Discography. The Biographies section is divided into five eras, the Music section organized by 12 genre categories, and the Discography alphabetically by composer.

 

KOM : Komponistinnen im Musikverlag : Katalog lieferbarer Musikalien. Kassel : Furore, 1996.

ML128 .W7 K665x 1996 MUSIC REFERENCE

A catalog of available published music by women composers. Includes both instrumental a nd vocal music. Arranged by medium of performance.

 

Laurence, Anya. Women of Notes : 1000 Women Composers Born before 1900. New York: R. Rosen Press, 1978.

ML105 .L28 MUSIC REFERENCE

A biographical listing of women composers born before 1900. Main section is divided by country with emphasis on American and European composer. Each entry contains brief biographical information, and many entries mention some compositions. Includes brief preliminary chapter on a variety of subjects. Appendix A is a miscellaneous list of women performers, teachers, writers, etc. Includes discography and name index.

 

LePage, Jane Weiner. Women Composers, Conductors, and Musicians of the Twentieth Century. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1980- .

ML82 .L46 MUSIC REFERENCE

A three volume work containing fairly substantial biographies of 20th century women composers, conductors and musicians, primarily American. Vol. 1 contains 17 biographies, Vol. 2 adds 17 more, and Vol. 3 contains 18. Bibliographies and discographies included for each entry.

 

Hours and Locations