Login to LibApps

Music - Subject Guides: Bibliography/Biography (M-Z)

An archive of past music subject guides found on the Music Library website.
Subjects: Music

Bibliography/Biography (M-Z)

MacAuslan, Janna. Guitar music by women composers : an annotated catalog. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1997.

ML128 .G8 M33 1997 MUSIC REFERENCE

A comprehensive catalog of music for solo guitar and guitar with other instruments. The first section is a listing of compositions by instrumentation, with some information about length, level of difficulty, and publisher. The second section contains brief composer biographies, with references to additional sources.

 

Meggett, Joan M. Keyboard Music by Women Composers : A Catalog and Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1981.

ML128. H35 M43 MUSIC REFERENCE

A comprehensive catalog of works by and about 290 women composers from the 17th to the 20th centuries. The main body of the volume lists composers alphabetically and includes brief biographical information, major fields of composition, all keyboard music composed, selected writings, and a bibliography of books and articles about the composer. It also contains an extensive list of sources, and 5 appendixes, including a supplementary listing and discography. This work includes compositions for harpsichord and organ, as well as the piano.

 

New Grove dictionary of women composers. London : Macmillan, 1994.

ML105 .N38x 1994 MUSIC REFERENCE

A small volume, but manages to include entries for nearly 900 women composers, from ancient times to the present. The entries are usually quite short, but contain valuable lists of works. Generously illustrated.

 

Olivier, Antje. Komponistinnen von A-Z. Dusseldorf: Tokkata, 1988.

ML105 .O45 1988 MUSIC REFERENCE

A biographical dictionary of women composers covering all periods and countries. Biographies are brief but works lists very thorough. In German.

 

Organ and Harpsichord Music by Women Composers : An Annotated Catalog. Comp. by Adel Heinrich. New York: Greenwood, 1991.

ML128 .O6 O73 1991 MUSIC REFERENCE

An international listing of music for organ and harpsichord, both solo and in ensemble. The work is divided into several sections including an alphabetical listing of the works by composer, separate instrumentation and title indexes, composers biographies, and chronological listing by country.

 

Rogal, Samuel J. Sisters of Sacred Song : A Selected Listing of Women Hymnodists in Great Britain and America. New York: Garland, 1981.

BV325 .R63 MUSIC REFERENCE

An alphabetical listing of hymnodists. Includes appendices which classify by nationality and denominational affiliation. Also lists hymn collections and titles of hymns alphabetically.

 

Skowronski, JoAnn. Women in American Music : A Bibliography. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1978.

ML128 .W7 S6 MUSIC REFERENCE

A bibliography of literature on women in American music, covering all areas of music from 1776 to 1975. Divided into four chronological sections, the largest of which covers 1939 to 1976. Entries include bibliographic citations, and most are annotated. Includes name index.

   

Stern, Susan. Women Composers : A Handbook. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1978.

ML105 .S7 MUSIC REFERENCE

A list of women composers citing biographical sources. Geographic coverage not comprehensive. Time period covers 16th century to present. Main listing alphabetical by composer, including dates, major areas of composition, and citation of source. Includes a list of sources, a supplementary list of composers, and bibliography.

 

Stewart-Green, Miriam. Women Composers : A Checklist of Works for the Solo Voice. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1980.

ML128 .V7 S83 MUSIC REFERENCE

A listing of 3746 women composers from 72 countries, dating from as early as 600 BC. There are three General Lists which give the composers' names, nationality and dates. List I gives composers and song titles, List II gives song composers but no titles, and List III gives composers believed to have written songs. There are also separate sections for operas, cantatas, oratorios, masses, cycles, dramatic scenes, and with instruments other than piano. Includes a bibliography and index.

 

Unterbrink, Mary. Jazz Women at the Keyboard. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1983.

ML397 .U57 1983 MUSIC REFERENCE

Contains biographical accounts, in varying lengths, of women jazz pianists. Not arranged in dictionary form, but rather by geographical area. Includes background information on various styles and areas of activity. Suffers from lack of separate index to featured biographies, but does include complete name index.

 

Walker-Hill, Helen. Piano Music by Black Women Composers : A Catalog of Solo and Ensemble Works. New York: Greenwood, 1992.

ML128 .P3 W3 1992 MUSIC REFERENCE

A catalog of the non-vocal piano music of over 50 Black women composers. Each composer is given a brief biographical sketch, followed by an annotated listing of the works. The annotations are descriptive and include level of difficulty. Several useful appendices including a selected discography.

 

Women's Studies/Women's Status. Boulder, CO: College Music Society, 1988.

ML82 .W69 1988 MUSIC REFERENCE

The fifth report of the College Music Society of research generated by the Committee on the Status of Women in Music. Contains an annotated bibliography of recent writings, a statistical report on the status of women in college music, and a list of selected films and videos featuring women in music.

Hours and Locations