~[22]~

Music - Online Resources: News (Current and Historical)

Online resources that may be used for music performance and research.
~[125]~: Music

News (Current and Historical)

British Online Newspaper Archive

Free online newspaper archive containing SELECTED years of full-text coverage (for selected years within the 19th and 20th century) in the following BRITISH publications: DAILY NEWS, NEWS OF THE WORLD, THE MANCHESTER GUARDIAN, PENNY ILLUSTRATED, and WEEKLY DISPATCH.

 

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online 1841-1902

 

Brooklyn's main daily paper from 1841 to 1902. The Web site includes an introduction to the paper's history over its long tenure as Brooklyn's main daily paper as well as a timeline of the important changes to the paper's format, layout, and content organization. Chronicles the communities' history while under the reins of a host of well-regarded editors, including Walt Whitman.

 

Civil War Newspapers

 

This database is from ACCESSIBLE ARCHIVES FULL-TEXT DATABASES. It contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. The text begins with the events preceeding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts andofficial reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day. These include such topics as travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, etc.

 

LexisNexis Academic

 

Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals.  Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotations; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting statements/guidelines; and news transcripts.

 

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

 

This premier newspaper database represents the first initiative to not only reach back into the past to digitize historical newspaper information, but also to provide that information as both full-page images and as article images.

 

Atlanta Constitution 1868-1939

 

Hartford Courant 1764-1984

 

Chicago Defender 1905-1975

 

Los Angeles Times 1881-1985

 

The New York Times 1851-2003

 

The Washington Post 1977-1992

 

Hours and Locations