~[22]~

Music - Online Resources: Digital Audio (Open Access)

Online resources that may be used for music performance and research.
~[125]~: Music

Digital Audio (Open Access)

Digital Audio Collections from the Library of Congress American Memory Collections

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

 

Global Music Archive – Digital Collection of East African Recordings

The Global Music Archive is a resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americans.  Hosted by Vanderbilt University, the Digital Collection of East African Recordings provides searching and browsing by region, language, ethnic group, and and musical instrument.

 

The Internet Archive Wayback Machine

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. The collection includes live music archives, audio recordings, and textual records. The archives provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.

 

Judaica Sound Archives

Created by Florida Atlantic University, the Judaica Sound Archives is online searchable archive of Judaica sound recordings. The archive includes recordings of Yiddish, Hebrew and Sephardic music in any language from the various countries where Jews have lived, both secular and religious. The music is provided in a non-downloadable streaming audio format.

 

MacEdward Leach and the Songs of Atlantic Canada

Created by MUNFLA, the Memorial University of Newfoundland Folklore and Language Archive, this resources provides access to information about songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected between 1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available.

 

The Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature Online

The Milman Parry Collection (Harvard University) is the largest single repository of South Slavic heroic song in the world.  Some songs are represented by both digital text (manuscript or typescript) and audio, others by only one format. Links to associated digital objects are included in the indexed lists.

 

NPR Music Online

This online resource features streaming music audio, live concerts on demand, studio sessions, interviews and profiles of musical artists, and news, reviews, and blogs about all things musical.

 

Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican-American Recordings

This digital collection is housed at UCLA and features 78 rpm phonograph recordings from the largest repository of Mexican and Mexican-American vernacular recordings in existence.

 

 

 

Hours and Locations