~[22]~

Music - Online Resources: Digital Score Collections (Open Access)

Online resources that may be used for music performance and research.
~[125]~: Music

Digital Score Collections (Open Access)

Beethoven-Haus Bonn: Digital Archives

The Digital Archives contains the unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus: Music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures.  By linking more than 5,000 documents on 26,000 coloured scans of high quality, 1,600 audio files (music examples, audio letters) and 7,600 text files, Beethoven's thinking, life and work become tangible and can be experienced in a visual and audible way.

 

Chopin Early Editions

Chopin Early Editions consist of digitized images of all scores in the University of Chicago Library's Chopin collection. Users can search or browse Chopin Early Editions via a variety of data points, including titles, genres, and plate numbers.

 

Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae Electronicum

Based at Utrecht University in the Netherlands, the CMME project represents a collaborative development effort to offer free online access to new, high-quality early music scores.

 

Digital Mozart Edition: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe

The purpose of the Digital Mozart Edition is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. Operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute, the website offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe.

 

Digital Scores from the Collections of the Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library (Harvard)

The Loeb Music Library, has created an expansible archive of scanned images of rare and unique musical scores; freely available via the Web for classroom and research use at Harvard and to scholars all over the world. At the present time, composers represented in the collection include members of the Bach family, Mozart, and Verdi.

 

Digitale Bibliothek: Das Munchener Digitalisierungszentrum (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)

The Munich Digitization Centre (MDZ) handles the digitization and online publication of the cultural heritage preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions. It provides one of the largest and fastest growing digital collections in Germany, now comprising 31,102 titles available online.   Included in this collection is complete digitized version of the Handel-Gesellschaft edition.

 

Juilliard Manuscript Collection

The Juilliard Manuscript Collection contains 138 autograph manuscripts, sketches, engraver’s proofs, and first editions donated to the school in 1986 by Bruce Kovner.   Forty-two composers are represented, including Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Copland, Debussy, Liszt, Mozart, Schubert, Schumann, and Stravinsky.

 

Musical Scores from the University of Illinois Music Library

This collection contains 97 scores to musicals and operettas found in the collections of the University of Illinois Music Library.  Composers represented include Victor Herbert, Reginald De Koven, Franz Lehar, and Sir Arthur Sullivan.

 

Sibley Music Library Musical Scores

The Sibley Music Library of the Eastman School of Music has created a digital collection of scores in the public domain, many of which are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.

 

Virtual Rare Book Room

The Virtual Rare Book Room at the University of North Texas Music Library provides full-text image files of early music prints and manuscripts, most housed in the UNT Music Library’s Rare Book Room, and background information about those works.  The site also provides access to UNT’s Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection.

Hours and Locations