Scholarly Communication
A guide to issues in scholarly communication, including publishing, open access, copyright, author rights, and digital archiving.
Scholarly Communication Librarian
Anali Perry
she/her/hers
Contact:
Hayden Library
300 E. Orange Mall
Tempe, AZ 85287-1006
300 E. Orange Mall
Tempe, AZ 85287-1006
480-727-6301
Scholarly Communication - Peer Reviewed Journals
- Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly CommunicationCovers topics in librarianship & publishing, including methods for dissemination of information, information exchange, curation of information, etc.
- The Journal of Copyright in Education and LibrarianshipIt is a peer-reviewed open-access publication for original articles, reviews and case studies that analyze or describe the strategies, partnerships and impact of copyright law on public, school, academic, and digital libraries, archives, museums, and research institutions and their educational initiatives.
- Journal of Scholarly PublishingAddresses the new challenges resulting from changes in technology, funding, and innovations in publishing.
- Scholarly and Research CommunicationA peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, Open Access online journal that publishes original contributions to the understanding of production, dissemination, and usage of knowledge.
- Journal of eScience LibrarianshipThe journal is an open access, peer-reviewed journal advancing the theory and practice of librarianship focusing on services related to data-driven research in science, technology, engineering, math, social sciences, medicine, and public health.
Open Access Online Resources
- Open Access Tracking ProjectThe Open Access Tracking Project uses social tagging to compile and archive a comprehensive collection of news related to Open Access.
- BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search EngineBASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).
- Open Access DirectoryThe Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
- Open Access ButtonThe Open Access Button is an app that helps researchers, patients, students and the public get legal access to research they need and request research be made available.
- UnpaywallA browser extension that searches for an open access version of the article.
Videos on Scholarly Communication
- Academic Presses and Scholarly Publishing (11 December 2015)Featuring Elizabeth Ault (Duke University Press) and Sara Jo Cohen (Temple University Press) in conversation with Richard Brown (Georgetown University Press) and Peter Ginna (previously with Oxford University Press).
- The Public Knowledge Project: Open Source Platforms for Open Access Scholarly Publishing (22 March 2016)From the mediaX Conference “Platforms for Collaboration and Productivity”, John Willinsky with the Stanford Graduate School of Education discusses The The Public Knowledge Project, the world's most-widely used journal management system, and how this is among the initiatives contributing to a new age of public access to research and scholarship.
Keep up with the latest news
OATP
The Open Access Tracking Project (OATP) is a crowd-sourced project to capture new developments on open access to research and one of the best methods for keeping current on scholarly communication issues. Visit the OATP on TagTeam, or check out the RSS feed of the latest developments:
Loading ...
DigitalKoans
DigitalKoans is an excellent source for news and commentary related to digital information issues, including scholarly communication, digital scholarship, and open access. It is published by Charles W. Bailey, creator of Digital Scholarship.
Loading ...
Recommended Readings
The future of scholarly communication by Call number: ZA3075 .F88 2013ISBN: 9781856048170Publication date: 2013The editors draw together the informed commentary of internationally-renowned experts from all sectors and backgrounds on the future of scholarly communication.
Common Ground at the Nexus of Information Literacy and Scholarly Communication by Call number: ZA3075 .C67 2013ISBN: 9780838986219Publication date: 2013The book presents concepts, experiments, collaborations, and strategies at the crossroads of the fields of scholarly communication and information literacy. The seventeen essays and interviews in this volume engage ideas and describe vital partnerships that enrich both information literacy and scholarly communication programs within institutions of higher education.
Publishing and the Academic World by Call number: Z286.S37 P825 2016ebISBN: 9781138916708Publication date: 2016-05-10This book provides guidance from a range of contributors who use their own wide expertise in writing and publication to document the challenges faced by scholars at different career stages and in different locations. This will be a useful guide for scholars across the globe looking to enhance their publication performance, and those questioning what needs to be done in order to understand, navigate and to (re-)position one's self and institution in this increasingly significant and rapidly altering terrain.
Planned Obsolescence by
Choice's Outstanding Academic Title list for 2013 A bold approach to re-envisioning the future of academic publishing Academic institutions are facing a crisis in scholarly publishing at multiple levels: presses are stressed as never before, library budgets are squeezed, faculty are having difficulty publishing their work, and promotion and tenure committees are facing a range of new ways of working without a clear sense of how to understand and evaluate them. Planned Obsolescence is both a provocation to think more broadly about the academy's future and an argument for re-conceiving that future in more communally-oriented ways. Facing these issues head-on, Kathleen Fitzpatrick focuses on the technological changes--especially greater utilization of internet publication technologies, including digital archives, social networking tools, and multimedia--necessary to allow academic publishing to thrive into the future. But she goes further, insisting that the key issues that must be addressed are social and institutional in origin. Springing from original research as well as Fitzpatrick's own hands-on experiments in new modes of scholarly communication through MediaCommons, the digital scholarly network she co-founded, Planned Obsolescence explores these aspects of scholarly work, as well as issues surrounding the preservation of digital scholarship and the place of publishing within the structure of the contemporary university. Written in an approachable style designed to bring administrators and scholars into a conversation, Planned Obsolescence explores both symptom and cure to ensure that scholarly communication will remain relevant in the digital future. Related Articles: "Do 'the Risky Thing' in Digital Humanities"--Chronicle of Higher Education "Academic Publishing and Zombies"--Inside Higher Ed
Call number: Z286.S37 F58 2011ISBN: 9780814727881Publication date: 2011-11-01
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
