Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

UNI 110/ASU 120 Critical Reading & Thinking

Library One Search - Narrow w/ Text

Library One Search  

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Keyword Worksheet

Use this keyword worksheet to generate keywords for your search!

Article Databases

The research databases below are the place to go to find those library sources you need for your position papers.

Opposing Viewpoints provides essays supporting differing points of view for each topic. If you don't see your topic listed, you can search by keyword. 

Academic Search Premier is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text.

Academic Search Premier - Introduction: Interactive Tutorial and Quiz

The Arizona Republic is a great place to find full-text articles from the local newspaper.

Access World News offers newspaper coverage from around the US and around the world.   

CQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information on current issues in the news. It is the most reliable place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers.

This link takes you to the CQ Library, from there select CQ Researcher.

Nexis Uni offers newspaper articles from around the country and the world.

NOTE: to limit your search to just editorials and opinions, follow the steps below.

1) From the main Nexis Uni page, click on the NEWS tab in the left column

2) Then select All NEWS.

3) On the main page to the right, select the EDITORIALS & OPINIONS checkbox in the "Article Type" area.

Need Help?

Get immediate help from a librarian via chat or email.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Mary Ann Naumann
Contact:
Hayden Library
300 E Orange Mall, Tempe, AZ 85281

LIbrarian

Profile Photo
Jenny Mueller-Alexander
Areas of expertise
Business, Economics, & Entrepreneurship
Ira A. Fulton Engineering: Polytechnic School &
ASU Libraries @ Polytechnic campus
Profile and Guides
Contact:
LOCATION: 38 CNTR Polytechnic campus
HOURS:
Mon-Fri................7:00 am - 3:00 pm
or by appointment via phone, Zoom, Slack, Skype (no in person at the moment)
480-965-3084
Skype Contact: JennyMA.ASULibraries

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.