Login to LibApps

Finding ASU History: ASU Sports History

Basic tools for finding ASU history materials

Published Sources

Be sure to search the Digital Materials and Research Tools for ASU sports!

General Works Available at the University Archives Reference Shelf, Luhrs Reading Room:

Eger, Bob, Maroon and Gold, 2001

Hopkins, Ernest J. and Alfred Thomas, Jr., The Arizona State University Story, 1960

Smith, Dean, The Sun Devils: Eight Decades of Arizona State Football, 1979

ASU Sports Media Guides    Call #: ASU 34.X

Filed by sport and then by year. Ask at the Luhrs Reading Room for the media guide of a particular sport and year, or request the ASU Classification Guide to obtain complete call number for each sport.

ASU Yearbooks             Call #: ASU 131.15

Available for most years between 1914-2000. Note there are several years esp. in the 1970’s when no yearbook was produced.

ASU Newspaper Index Card File

Search catalog cards by subject for ASU and local news coverage 1890-1987 (many gaps in coverage). Ask for the card file at the Luhrs Reading Room Desk.

Audio and Video

Intercollegiate Athletics Film and Video Collection

The Intercollegiate Athletics Film and Video Collection includes video and film footage of ASU athletics in a variety of obsolete formats. Most of the items are complete or partial videos and films of team sports games (primarily football), but the collection also includes men's & women's basketball, baseball, softball, volleyball, men's & women's gymnastics, men's & women's golf, men's & women's swimming, wrestling, and men's & women's tennis.

College World Series Collection

Radio broadcasts of Sun Devil Baseball appearances in the 1967 and 1969 College World Series. Bobby Winkles speaks at the 1969 CWS Final (Tape 2, Side A), which was broadcast on KOOL radio Phoenix, Bob Davies with the play by play.

Joel Benedict Sun Devil Football Films

Seven motion pictures from the 1958 football season, including the complete Arizona State College at Detroit game. Unidentified games and scrimmages at Goodwin Stadium are also presented in black and white, color and early widescreen formats. 

The Arizona Territorial Cup [audio podcast]

In this special presentation from The Library Channel, University Archivist Rob Spindler talks with Digital Projects Librarian Mimmo Bonanni about the history of the Arizona Territorial League Championship Cup and the longstanding rivalry between the Arizona State University (ASU) Sun Devils and University of Arizona (UA) Wildcats.

It’s Time Videos, Tempe: Arizona State University, 2011.

Historic photographs and vintage films featured in eight brief videos were posted on You Tube April 12th to coincide with the public unveiling of the new Sun Devil Athletics brand. Numerous examples of Sun Devil athletics uniforms and mascot Sparky show how they changed over time. Action scenes from Fiesta Bowl I (1971) and other ASU football and basketball games, and images from the 1958 Name Change drive are also shown.

Fans, Spirit Squad and Marching Band

It's Time to Celebrate Our Past

It's Time: Sun Devil Baseball

It's Time: Men's Basketball

It's Time: Football, Part I

It's Time: Football, Part II

It's Time: April 12, 2011

 

Did You Know?

The Territorial Cup commemorates ASU's victory in the first ever football game against the University of Arizona in 1899. It was certified by the NCAA as the nation's oldest intercollegiate rivalry trophy. It was lost sometime after the big game in 1899 and was found in the basement of a local church ca. 1980.

The Arizona Territorial Football League Championship Cup

Hours and Locations