Login to LibApps

Child Drama: Finding Manuscripts

What are manuscripts?

In addition to publications, the Child Drama Collection also includes manuscripts as follows:

*The personal papers of playwrights, professors, authors, managing directors, designers, K-12 arts specialists, puppeteers, arts advocates and directors.    

 *The business records of professional theatres for young audiences, youth theatres, play publishers, national theatre for youth organizations, theatre education programs and foundations.

Included are: programs; posters; play and book typescripts; production schedules; set and costume renderings; light plots; set elevations; promptbooks; class syllabi and notes; production, personal and publicity photographs; study guides; play research; grant proposals; costumes; props; set models; puppets; budgets; lesson plans; curricula; conference programs; videotapes; correspondence; audiotapes; DVDs; meeting minutes and agendas; reports; conference proceedings; scrapbooks; season brochures and more.

 


Manuscript Collections

Manuscript collections are sorted into series, then arranged by subject or chronologically and placed in document boxes. A finding aid, which lists the folder titles in each box, a biography or history, copyright owner, size of the collection, provenance and scope and contents note is created so scholars can search for materials. The collections highlighted below have electronic finding aids. Those that are not online have paper copies that are available in the Luhrs Reading Room on the 4th floor of Hayden Library or via email from the Curator. For a list of Child Drama collections by genre, see the Manuscript Table of Contents below.

Manuscript Collections List by Categories

 

*Designers:
Irene Corey

*Educational Programs:
CEMREL (Central Mid-Western Regional Laboratory); Evanston School District 65 Theatre Program, IL; Bernard Rosenblatt (CEMREL)

*Foundations:
Children's Theatre Foundation of America; Winifred Ward Memorial Fund

*National organizations:
AATE (American Alliance for Theatre & Education), formerly known as AATY, CTAA and CTC; TYA/USA, formerly known as ASSITEJ/USA; Virginia Lee Comer (Association of Junior Leagues of America); International Showcase for Performing Arts for Young People; Secondary School Theatre Association (SSTA), formerly known as SSTC); Gerald Tyler (ASSITEJ International)

*Performers/Directors/Arts Educator:
Irene Vickers Baker; Isabel Burger; Orlin Corey; Ruth Davis; Hazel Brain Dunnington; Shirley Harbin; Ann Hill; Wendy Netzky Jolly; Mark Lutwak; Joe E. Marks; Miriam Morton; Lester Netzky; Cecily O’Neill; Elizabeth Rike; Dorothy Schwartz; Rosa Scott; Elizabeth Segal; Peter Slade; Julie Thompson; Nicholas Wandmacher; Kim Wheetley; Graham Whitehead; Rosilyn Wilder

*Playwrights:
Sandra Fenichel Asher; Flora Atkin; Ric Averill; Cherie Bennett with Jeff Gottesfeld; Laurie Brooks; Max Bush; Charlotte B. Chorpenning; Chris Cjalka; Doug Cooney; Pat Forrest Whitton; Moses Goldberg; Aurand Harris; Barry Kornhauser; V. Glasgow Koste; Brian Kral; Joanna Halpert Kraus; Jonathan Levy; Paul Morse; Rosemary Musil; Joseph Robinette; David Saar; Mrs. James Gardner Sisson; Pamela Sterling; James Still; Mary Hall Surface; Lowell Swortzell; Y York; and Suzan Zeder

*Playwriting Symposia:                                                                                            Waldo M. and Grace C. Bonderman National Youth Theatre Playwriting Competition and Symposium Records

*Professional theatre companies:                                                 Childsplay, Inc. (Tempe, AZ); Children’s Theatre Company (Minneapolis, MN); The Coterie Theatre (Kansas City, MO); Creative Arts Team (New York, NY); Dallas Children's Theater (Dallas, TX); Everyman Players (touring); GEVA Theatre Center (Rochester, NY); Graffiti Theatre (Cork, Ireland); Honolulu Theatre for Youth (Honolulu, HI); Indiana Repertory Theatre (Indianapolis, IN); John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts Theatre and Arts Education Programs (Washington, DC); Laguna Playhouse (Laguna Beach, CA); Living Stage Theatre Company (Washington, DC); Metro Theater Company (St. Louis, MO); Nashville Children's Theatre (Nashville, TN); Open Eye Theater (Margaretville, NY); Paper Bag Players (New York, NY)People’s Light and Theatre (Malvern, PA); Seattle Children's Theatre (Seattle, WA); Seem-To-Be Players (Lawrence, KS); Serendipity Theatre (Los Angeles, CA); Wheelock Family Theatre (Newton, MA)


*Publishing houses:
Rain City ProjectsAnchorage Press; Coach House Press; I. E. Clark; New Plays, Inc.; ; Sara Spencer (Anchorage Press)

*Puppeteer:
George Latshaw; Joanne Rapp

*Television:
Martha Keller; Jack and Helen Luchsinger

*University Professors and authors:
Dorothy Aldrich MacKenzie (University of New Hampshire); Tom Behm (University of North Carolina at Greensboro); Don Doyle, Roger L. Bedard, Johnny Saldaña Papers, Barbara Salisbury Wills, Lin Wright (Arizona State University); Rita Criste, Barbara McIntyre, Ann Thurman, Winifred Ward (Northwestern University); Jed Davis (University of Kansas); Mary Jane Evans (California State University, Northridge); Kenneth Graham (University of Minnesota); Jeanne Hall (California State University, Hayward); Coleman Jennings, Joan Lazarus (The University of Texas at Austin); Judith Kase-Cooper (University of South Florida); Paul Kozelka (Columbia); Margaret McKerrow (California State University, San Diego); Jean A. McMillen (Colorado State College); Harold Oaks (Brigham Young University); Susan Pearson (University of New Mexico); F. Scott Regan (Bowling Green University); Laura Gardner Salazar (Grand Valley State College); Ann Shaw (Hunter College); Geraldine Brain Siks (University of Washington); John Stewig (Carthage College); Nellie McCaslin, Lowell Swortzell Nancy Swortzell (New York University); John Tolch (University of Wisconsin, Madison); Dorothy Webb (IUPUI, Indianapolis); Joyce Wilkinson (Ontario Institute for Studies in Education)

*University Theatre for Youth Programs:
Adelphi University Children’s Centre for Creative Arts; Arizona State University Theatre for Youth Program; Eastern Michigan University Theatre of Youth Program; University of Kansas Theatre for Young People

*Youth theatre companies:
Dina Rees Evans (Cain Park Theatre, Cleveland, OH); Children's Theatre of Evanston (Evanston, IL); Harwich Junior Theatre (Harwich, MA); David W. Holroyd (King-Coit Theatre, New York, NY); Stageworks, formerly Mesa Youtheatre (Mesa, AZ)

Subject Guide

Kathy Krzys's picture
Kathy Krzys
Contact:
480-965-6519

Hours and Locations