Login to LibApps

Supply Chain Management: Raw Materials

Guide to sources for supply chain management research

Raw Materials Used

  1. Household Products Database
    Website: http://householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov/index.htm

    Identifies specific brands of household products and their ingredients and provides health and safety information.
     
  2. How Products Are Made
    Website: http://www.madehow.com/

    Describes product manufacturing processes and the raw materials that go into them.
     
  3. Manufacturing & Distribution USA 
    Database (ASU access only): http://library.lib.asu.edu/record=b6153304 

    Presents industry snapshots that include rankings of leading companies. Entries for manufacturing industries also show data on materials consumed and information on the industry's inputs (supplier industries) and outputs (customer industries) so materials used can be traced up and down the supply chain.

Prices & Price Indexes

  1. Commodity Markets
    Website

    Accesses the last three monthly issues of World Bank "pink sheets" on commodity prices. Each issue includes comparisons to the previous two years. Also shows the last three quarterly reports for the Commodity Prices Outlook and the Price Forecasts. See the Global Economic Monitor in this section for an interactive databank of historical "pink sheet" data.
     
  2. Commodity Price Forecasts
    Database (ASU access only): http://search.proquest.com.ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/metaproducts/normal/abi/browse:publication?site=abicomplete

    Consists of monthly reports of commodity prices and forecasts published by Oxford Economics. Covers oil and metal commodities.  Also provides aggregated data for the broad commodity categories of agriculture, beverages, fertilizer, food, and metals.
     
  3. Commodity Research Bureau - Market Data
    Website

    Tracks the performance of commodity markets for currencies, energies, financials, grains, indices, meats, metals, and softs.  Also accesses data on the CRB indexes.
     
  4. CNNMoney.com: Commodities
    Website

    Presents latest trading prices and data.
     
  5. CRB Commodity Yearbook
    Print serial with CD: HF1041 .C56 Hayden Journals (latest in Reference)

    also in ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Database (ASU access only)

    Compiles information on production and prices of over 100 commodities traded on U.S. commodity exchanges. Data is presented in tabular and chart format and provides coverage of at least four years and usually ten or more in the print and online versions. The CD version shelved with the print copy provides more extensive time series.
     
  6. Economagic.com: Bridge/CRB Data
    Website

    Archives extensive time series for a variety of Bridge/CRB commodity market indexes.
     
  7. Economist Intelligence Unit
    Database (ASU access only)

    Provides prices and 5-year forecasts for about 40 commodities updated monthly in the Global Forecasting Service. Summaries of older reports are archived under the "Past reports" navigation link of the forecasting service site.
     
  8. Global Economic Monitor (GEM) Commodities
    Website

    Queries a databank of monthly commodity prices and indexes collected by the World Bank since 1960 and displays the results as tables, charts, or maps. Prices are shown in both nominal (actual) dollars and real (adjusted for inflation) dollars.
     
  9. Global Wood
    Website

    Covers timber, lumber, pulp, and paper prices globally.  Includes prices at the national- and state-level for timber and/or lumber.
     
  10. MeasuringWorth.com: The Price of Gold
    Website: http://www.measuringworth.com/gold/

    Provides annual data for the official and market prices of gold for the U.S. and Britain going back as far as 1257.
     
  11. Producer Price Index Commodity Data
    http://data.bls.gov/pdq/querytool.jsp?survey=wp

    Covers monthly data for the U.S. from 1960 to the present.
     
  12. Rare Earths: What are their prices?
    Website: http://www.lynascorp.com/Pages/what-are-their-prices.aspx
     
  13. Today in Energy: Prices
    Website: http://www.energy.gov/pricestrends/index.htm

    Presents a daily summary of prices for various energy products. For more detailed pricing for individual energy products, see the U.S. Energy Information Administration's price pages for specific products: Petroleum, Natural Gas, Electricity, and Coal.

Commodity Reports

  1. Agricultural Marketing Service: Market News
    Website: https://www.ams.usda.gov/market-news

    Reports the market news for agriculture commodities. Includes information on prices, volume, and other market data in both domestic and international markets.
     
  2. Commodity Flow Survey
    Website: http://www.bts.gov/publications/commodity_flow_survey/

    Collects data every five years on commodity shipments showing value, weight, type of transport and distance shipped for each commodity.
     
  3. INFOCOMM: Market Information in the Commodities Area
    Website: http://www.unctad.info/en/Infocomm/

    Compiles international information on agricultural, beverage, energy, and metal/mineral commodities markets and prices.
     
  4. U.S. Department of Energy: Prices and Trends
    Website: http://www.energy.gov/pricestrends/index.htm

    Presents links to price sources in the middle section of the screen, while sources for trend reports and data appear on the left and right sides of the screen.
     
  5. USGS Minerals Information: Commodity Statistics and Information
    Website: http://minerals.er.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/commodity/

    Provides access to the U.S. Geological Survey's information and reports on metal and mineral commodities.
     
  6. World Bank: Commodity Markets
    Website: http://go.worldbank.org/4ROCCIEQ50

    Brings together commodity price data, forecasts, and reports produced by the World Bank.

Business Librarians

Email business librarians

 

Profile Image

Allison Leaming
 

 Foto of Jenny Mueller-Alexander

Jenny Mueller-Alexander

Hours and Locations