Therapeutic Recreation/Recreation Therapy
Learn how to construct a search statement and find articles on a specific population and service setting.
Need more help?
Top Research Databases & Resources
- CINAHLPrimary database of nursing and allied health information.
- PubmedPrimary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields. Includes articles from all areas of health, allied health, medicine, nursing, nutrition, and biomedical sciences.
- PsycInfoFind articles and information related to the topic of psychology, behavioral health, and related fields.
- Leisure Tourism DatabaseInformation on topics of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism, ecotourism, hospitality activities, facilities, facilities products, and services.
- Sports Medicine & Education IndexSearch to retrieve journal citations on biomechanics, kinesiology, coaching, curriculum, dance, health, history, law, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, sporting goods and exercise equipment, perception, philosophy, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, research, sports activities, sports psychology, sport sociology, sports, sports medicine, teaching methods, and training.
- SPORTDiscusCovers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education, and other sport and fitness related topics.
- ERICPremier U.S. database of education literature including articles and reports in education.
- RT Wise OwlsDatabase and information resource center developed by the Recreational Therapy (RT) Program at Temple University that contains evidence-based research and resources relevant to the scope of RT practice.
Additional Databases & Resources
More Health Related Databases
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane library provides access to evidence based research including cochrane systematic reviews and clincial trials. It also provides information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support health care decisions.
- ScopusScopus is a database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Includes many articles in the Health Sciences & Hard Sciences.
General
- Academic Search UltimateGeneral database that has articles and other types of information on a variety of topics.
- Google ScholarGeneral research database with articles and other types of information on a variety of topics.
Business & Education
- ABI/InformIt includes articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas as well as case studies, annual reports, Experian company credit information, country reports, industry reports, commodity reports, conference papers, and dissertations.
- Education Full TextA fulltext database that covers topics such as teaching methods, literacy standards, adult and continuing education, classroom management, school administration and evaluation methods of both students and teachers
Legislation
- Proquest CongressionalAccess to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders.
- Proquest Legislative InsightDocuments the legislative history of laws enacted by the U.S. Congress with links to relevant documents including the enacted public laws and related bills; Congressional Record excerpts; and committee hearings, reports, and documents.
Statistics
- Proquest Statistical InsightIncludes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations
Interprofessional Education
- IPE Organizations - University at BuffaloList of relevant national and international organizations providing resources for Interprofessional Education and collaborative Practice
- Center for Advancing Interprofessional Practice, Education and ResearchASU's center and resource related to the topic of Interprofessional Education
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
