Login to LibApps

Children's & Young Adult Literature: ASU Library Collections

Guide for library and Internet research resources about children's and young adult literature.

Children's & Young Adult Literature Collections in ASU Library

The ASU Library collects children's and young adult books in support of education students and faculty in courses and/or doing research.  There are collections on 3 campuses (Polytechnic campus Library, Hayden Library on the Tempe campus &  Fletcher Library on the West campus). Within each Library, books in this collection have a location designation of curriculum [CURR].  Each collection has books focusing on different ages and genres.

The sub-areas within the curriculum collection include non-fiction with Dewey Decimal call numbers, within the Dewey section, books that are biographies have a call number of 92; picture books [Easy]; fiction books [FIC]; books in other languages [Hayden groups these under the designation SPAN while Fletcher Library groups these under LANG because there are books in languages besides Spanish; and Story Collections [SC].

Fletcher Library has also grouped graphic novels for easy location. These titles are largely in one call number within the non-fiction collection but there are titles in other areas so this assists the student in locating these graphic titles.

Each ASU Library with a collection has a wide range of titles for the broad spectrum of users but as of 2010 the Hayden Library focus is on young adult books while Fletcher Library focuses on children's books.

 

To locate books within the Libraries search the Library catalog using the suggestions listed under the tab in this guide: Finding Books.

Education Librarian

Bee Gallegos
Specialties: Children's & Young Adult Literature, Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Contact:
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
602-543-8509

Hours and Locations