Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

New College Writing Program Library Guide

Helpful Handouts

These useful one-page handouts describe the difference between popular, news, trade and scholarly articles and the guidelines for creating an annotated bibliography.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

Annotated Bibliography:

An annotated bibliography is an organized list of your sources that includes additional information about the sources. This information can be descriptive, explanatory, and/or evaluative in terms of quality, relevance to your own research project, as well as explorative in how the work provides options for further research.

To write a good annotated bibliography you need to be:

  • Concise: Go to the point of what is the book/article about, in few words, summarize.
  • Evaluative: Determine who is the author, what is his/her expertise in the topic, how reliable is the information
  • Critical: Reflect on what is the strength and weakness of the work, what is missing, etc.
  • Comparative: how each piece review compares to other similar works

Useful site with tips on how to write an Annotated Bibliography:

Subjects: Literature

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.