Login to LibApps

HSC 330: Healthcare Systems in the U.S.: Statistics

Also for HSC 332: Healthcare Legislation

Arizona Resources

Arizona Department of Health Services Vital statistics and reports on health topics relating to the state of Arizona.

Maricopa County Department of Public Health Statistics and reports on various health topics such as influenza, STDs, west nile virus, and general health reports related to Maricopa County.

FASTSTATS!

FastStats from (United States) Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

State and Territorial Data 

Global & Country-Specific Health Statistics

Country-specific Health Information and Statistics - from the World Health Organization (WHO) - includes information on countries which are Members of the United Nations

Health Data overview - from the World Bank

  • Health Stats Portal the World Bank’s comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP) statistics. It includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education.
    • Access HNP data by country, topic, or indicator
    • View resulting data (and wealth quintiles) in tables, charts or maps
    • Share data via email, Facebook and Twitter

Statistics Research Databases

Proquest Statistical Insight: Abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.  It includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations.  Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.  

More Health Statistics & Guidelines

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ provides data on topics such as emergency department visits, health care quality, hospitalizations, and more.

Centers for Disease Control The CDC provides data and statistics on a variety of topics including diseases, immunizations, healthy water, and life expectancy.

Cancer.gov Find cancer data and statistics.

National Center for Health Statistics Part of the CDC, NCHS provides datasets and statistics on a variety of health topics.   

National Guideline Clearinghouse Initiative of AHRQ providing users with an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

World Bank - Health Stats World Bank's comprehensive database of statistics on health, nutrition, and population.  Includes an international focus with the options to view health statistics as they relate to different countries or regions.

World Health Organization  WHO provides internationally focused health statistics including data on mortality, diseases, country statistics, and health systems.

Subject Guide

Kevin Pardon's picture
Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487

Ask Us!

All Health Librarians

hlthlib@exchange.asu.edu

Downtown & West campus

College of Health Solutions Programs & College of Nursing and Health Innovation Programs

Kevin Pardon
602-496-0487
Kevin.Pardon@asu.edu

Janice Hermer
602-496-0683
Janice.Hermer@asu.edu

Polytechnic campus

Jeanette Mueller-Alexander
480-965-3084
mue@asu.edu

Tempe campus

Biomedical Informatics & Speech and Hearing

Janice Hermer
602-496-0683
janice.hermer@asu.edu

Kevin Pardon
602-496-0487
kevin.pardon@asu.edu

Global Health

Mimmo Bonanni
480-965-4912
mimmo@asu.edu

 
 
 

 

Hours and Locations