Login to LibApps

EED/SED 593 Applied Projects-Mirage-Ware: Home

Research Assignment

Journal Article Literature Review

Complete and submit a copy of three Journal Article Review Forms.  Information from this assignment will be incorporated into your paper when you write your Literature Review section. This assignment has a value of 30 points. 

Research Goals

Learning Objectives

At the end of this instruction session, students will be able to:

  1. Identify and describe most relevant education related databases to locate scholarly articles
  2. Understand & be able to locate implement search strategies & methods to refine searches including the use of subjects 
  3. Identify & limit search results to scholarly/empirical articles
  4. Examine and evaluate the components of scholarly/empirical articles
  5. Create a bibliography of resources
  6. Set up their 3 library accounts including RefWorks
  7. Know how to get help from subject librarian & 24/7 help via Ask-a-Librarian


ERIC Searching


Depending on your topic there are multiple databases to search for education-related information. Education Full-Text and ERIC are the 2 databases specifically dedicated to education.


Education Full Text
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (via Proquest)
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Search Tips

To formulate an effective search strategy, follow these steps:

 Decide on your topic & state it as completely as possible

 Ex: What instructional methods work best with high school social studies students?


Identify the most important concepts or ideas in the statement, usually 3-5 ideas or concepts

      Ex: high school students, instructional methods, social studies

 Brainstorm several synonyms or keywords related to each concept or idea; arrange in groups

      Ex: high school students, secondary school students, adolescents

            instructional strategies, teaching methods, teaching strategies    

            social studies, social sciences, history, government

Combine search terms, both keywords and subjects, with Boolean connectors [e.g. AND, OR]

      AND is used to combine different concepts [teaching strategies AND high school students]; narrows    and focuses search results

      OR is used to combine keywords/synonyms describing the same concept [high school students OR secondary school students]; broadens the search results


Keyword vs. Subject searching

 Keyword word searches generally retrieves more results because the keyword is searched  everywhere in the database. Good approach when search a new idea or program.

 Subject searches generally are more focused and thus retrieve fewer results because the search is restricted to subject field in each item record. ERIC has a Thesaurus listing the subjects used in this database

Subject Guide

Bee Gallegos
Specialties: Children's & Young Adult Literature, Tests & Assessments, Library Science, Citation Styles
Profile and Guides

Need help?
My office hours are: M-TH 7am-4pm; F 7-11am
Fletcher Library 301C
West campus
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations