Login to LibApps

BMI 550: Topics in Translational Bioinformatics: Databases

Research Databases

Compedex/Inspec

Compedex and Inspec cover computing and engineering content.

Tips:

  1. Select both Compendex and Inspec to search simulateously.
  2. If IEEE conference proceedings are not found electronically, search IEEEXplore for title.
  3. Records may have "Cited by in Scopus (##)."  ASU Library does not have a subscription to Scopus, so the full functionality is not there, however, you should be able to access the list of titles. 

RefWorks:

  1. Use "Download" (Download this record) 
  2. Select "RefWorks Direct Import"

Web of Science

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database.

Tips:

  • Narrow to review articles.
  • Sort by "Times cited."
  • Use "Select a Database" to change databases to Biosis Preview (life sciences content).  In Biosis Previews, times cited is connected to Web of Science.

RefWorks

  • Use "RefWorks" button to directly export record into RefWorks.

SciFinder

SciFinder is a science focused database made by chemists for chemists.  Indexes Medline and CAPlus databases (among others).  

Tips:

  • Use Explore References to do a keyword search.
  • Use "Get Citing" (when viewing specific titles)  or Sort by "Citing References" (when viewing results list) to find highly cited articles.
  • Use Refine --> Document Type --> Review to find Review articles. 

RefWorks

  1. Select references or view specific record.
  2. Use "Export" link
    1. For Citation Manager *.ris
    2. Give filename and save file.  
  3. In RefWorks select "References" --> Import 
    1. Import Filter/Data Source --> RIS Format 
    2. Database --> RIS Format
    3. Find file.

Google Scholar

Google for academic resources.  Searches publishers, academic respositories and edu websites.

Tips:

  • "Cited by" will give a searchable list of titles.
  • "All versions" will give links and found citations.

RefWorks:

  1. Click "Cite." 
  2. Select "Remember my bibliography manager and show import links on results page."
  3. Click "Import to RefWorks."
  4. Caveat:  will not import all authors (limit 10?).

PubMed

PubMed is the database for biomedical literature (Medline).  

Tips:

  • Also searches PubMed Central (free full text)
  • Use Advanced search to build and refine your search.
  • Use MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to learn more about your topic and to expand your search.

RefWorks:

  1. Select references
  2. Click "Send To"
    1. Choose Destination --> "Citation Manager"
    2. Create File
  3. In RefWorks select "References" --> Import 
    1. Import Filter/Data Source --> NLM PubMed
    2. Database --> PubMed
    3. Find file.

Meet your librarian.

Kevin Pardon's picture
Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487

Hours and Locations