Login to LibApps

HSC 332: Healthcare Legislation: Health Statistics

Provides an overview of the federal/state health policy legislative process, how it is implemented in institutions, and its effect on health science professionals and delivery of services.

Local Resources

Arizona Department of Health Services Vital statistics and reports on health topics relating to the state of Arizona.

Maricopa County Department of Public Health Statistics and reports on various health topics such as influenza, STDs, west nile virus, and general health reports related to Maricopa County.

Statistics Research Databases

Proquest Statistical Insight: Abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.  It includes indexes of statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations.  Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.  

Health Statistics & Guidelines

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ provides data on topics such as emergency department visits, health care quality, hospitalizations, and more.

Centers for Disease Control The CDC provides data and statistics on a variety of topics including diseases, immunizations, healthy water, and life expectancy.

Cancer.gov Find cancer data and statistics.

National Center for Health Statistics Part of the CDC, NCHS provides datasets and statistics on a variety of health topics.   

National Guideline Clearinghouse Initiative of AHRQ providing users with an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

World Bank - Health Stats World Bank's comprehensive database of statistics on health, nutrition, and population.  Includes an international focus with the options to view health statistics as they relate to different countries or regions.

World Health Organization  WHO provides internationally focused health statistics including data on mortality, diseases, country statistics, and health systems.

Subject Guide

Kevin Pardon's picture
Kevin Pardon
Contact:
411 N. Central Ave., Downtown Phoenix campus Library
602-496-0487

Hours and Locations