Login to LibApps

HSC 320: Applied Medical / Healthcare Ethics: Research Databases

Integrates the theory and practice of ethics within health-related disciplines and the application of bioethics by health science professionals, including health disparities.

Ask a Librarian

How to tell if a journal is peer reviewed

  1. Go to Ulrichs Web - a Research Database with information about journals and other publications
  2. Search for the journal title that your article was published in (for example: BMC Medicine)
  3. Look for this image next to the journal title:
    • This image indicates that the journal is 'Refereed,' another term that means 'Peer-Reviewed.'

For more information on peer-reviewed articles, see:

ASU Library Peer-Reviewed/Refereed Articles Self-Paced Tutorial

Topic Overviews

Credo Reference Online | Credo provides full-text online access to hundreds of reference books in all major subjects, from almost every major discipline. Also includes dictionaries for major European languages and biographical reference resources.  *Offers additional links to search the same topic directly in a variety of research databases.

MedlinePlus - About the resource  | Search a topic in English or Spanish and retrieve the most authoritative consumer health information gathered from trusted sources.  Get  substantial topic overviews with latest news, current treatments, diagnosis, treatment, related organizations, and more.  It's "one stop" shopping since your search retrieves/links to the best consumer health information from all the major health associations, i.e. American Diabetes Association, American Heart Association.|  Just like PubMed, MedlinePlus is developled by  National Institutes of Health and Medical Library Association| 

Research Databases - Search by Topic

Research Databases 

When searching a database, click Get It!@ASU to find out how to access the full-text article.  

General

Academic Search PremierThis is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has lots of full text. 

Web of Science: Provides access to information about publications in approximately 5,800 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals in a broad range of disciplines.  

CQ Library - including CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information on current issues in the news. It is a reliable place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers.  

Health, Psychology

PubMed: The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields.  Open access searching interface for 'Medline.'  Includes references from several hundred nursing journals.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.

PsycINFO: Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Hours and Locations