~[22]~

Healthcare Innovation (MHI): Research Databases

Identifying Scholarly Journals

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles (You Tube TRT 3:10)

Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals (ASU Library Tutorial)

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Sources (Cal Poly)

Types of Periodicals (Ithaca College)

Ulrichsweb.com  (Research database)

Use Ulrichsweb to determine whether or not a journal and the articles published within are Peer Reviewed.  Covers periodicals, annuals, and irregulars published worldwide. Includes daily and weekly U.S. newspapers; newspapers published outside of the U.S; and cessations since 1979. Provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers worldwide.

 

Top Databases for MHI students

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.

Cochrane Library: Provides access to reliable information compiled by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic, up-to-date reviews of the effects of health care.

ERIC (via Proquest): Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

National Guidelines ClearinghouseNGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC provides physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

PsycINFO: Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. All records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

PubMed: The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields.  Open access searching interface for 'Medline.'  Includes references from several hundred nursing journals.

Design Resources & Research

  • Center for Health Design - Includes papers, articles, and references related to healthcare design
  • InformeDesign - Research summaries of studies in the field of design including healthcare design.

Hours and Locations