Login to LibApps

Healthcare Innovation (MHI): Identifying Peer Reviewed Journals

Identifying Scholarly Journals

Ulrichsweb.com

Covers periodicals, annuals, and irregulars published worldwide. Includes daily and weekly U.S. newspapers; newspapers published outside of the U.S; and cessations since 1979. Provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers worldwide.

Popular Magazines vs. Trade Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals (ASU Library)

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Sources (Cal Poly)

How to Identify Scholarly/Refereed/Peer Reviewed Articles (Ithaca College)

Identifying Peer Reviewed Journals

You have several options for identifying peer reviewed journals.

How can you idenitfy peer reviewed journals? | Read more about what peer reviewed means.

1.  Go to Ulrichs Periodical Directory (you can also access Ulrichs from the Research Databases tab on the ASU Library homepageand enter the journal title into the search bar.  Make sure to enter the journal title NOT the article title. Click on the journal you are interested in from the results screen.  

Once you have selected the journal you are interested in you should see a category titled "Refereed" that looks like the image below:

 

If you do not see this category field and a referee jersey then the journal is NOT peer reviewed.

 

2. When searching within research databases, once you have located an article you are interested in click on the GetIt@ASU button.  From the Getit@ASU button click the link under "More about this resource".  A new window will pop up directly linking you to the journal record in Ulrichs where you can look for the refereed category shown above.

 

3. Many of the online research databases allow you limit your retrieval to peer reviewed journal articles when you are searching. See list of databases and See screen shot examples from databases to find out how to limit your results.

 

PUBMED statement |  Most journals in PubMed are peer-reviewed or refereed. Non-editorial journal staff review original articles before the articles are accepted for publication.Criteria for peer review and the qualifications of peers or referees vary among publishers.We have no list of peer-reviewed/refereed journals in PubMed; and you cannot limit your search to peer-reviewed journals using PubMed.  When searching research datebases, click on GetIt@ASU, and scroll down to options. You will be able to link out to Ulrichs and search your journal title to confirm whether or not its peer reviewed.

Types of publications tutorial:

http://www.asu.edu/lib/tutorials/article-types/

Hours and Locations