Login to LibApps

Behavioral Health Guide: Tests & Measures

Subjects: Health Sciences

Finding Health-Related Tests & Measures

Many health professionals use a variety of measurement and assessment tools in their work and research, including clinical psychological / behavioral testing, questionnaires for research, and more.

The information on this page comes from a guide by our Psychology Librarian at Tempe campus, JoAnn Mulvihill, but is useful for finding tests & measures on most topics.

Have you tried the resources here, but aren't finding what you need?  Or, looking for something that these don't address?

Your Health Librarians' contact info is on the right side of this page - contact all of us at once, or your librarian/s at your campus for further assistance!

Where do I start?

Databases of Test Information

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of commercially published tests. The database includes all information published after the 10th edition (1989) of the Mental Measurements Yearbook. Database also searches Tests in Print.

Tests in Print
Comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print is directly linked to the test reviews published in Mental Measurements Yearbook. Database also searches Mental Measurements Yearbook.
 
PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information. The key feature in this database is that the actual tests themselves are included.
HaPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments
HaPI identifies tests and measures that have been discussed in journal articles and other sources. The majority of these are not for sale by commercial publishers. Instead, HaPI includes journal citations which may give you leads to locating the instrument itself. In some cases the test itself is included in the journal article. In other cases, only sample questions are included. Sometimes it will be necessary to contact the author of the test.

PsycInfo
Search your keywords in the PsycInfo database, adding the words "validity" or "reliability" or both. This will find articles that describe the validity or reliability of measurement instruments on your topic. For example: anxiety and children and validity and reliability. NOTE: You can also search for keywords and then use the word "appended" in the "tests and measures" field to find articles that include the actual instrument. Just be aware that you may not find very many appended measures.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
A service of Helen Hough at the University of Texas, this is an index to compilations of tests available in many libraries. The site was designed as a service to locate tests, measures, instruments, etc. when there is a known title or author and a copy of the test is desired.

ETS Test Link
The Test Collection at ETS (Educational Testing Service) is a library of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices that makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers. Collected from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest such compilation in the world.

Dissertations and Theses
This is not actually a test database, but it can be useful in the search for appropriate research instruments. The database contains full text of dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also contains some masters' theses, although many fewer. If a doctoral student developed an instrument to use in their dissertation research, this will probably give you access. It's often very helpful to see how others approached their graduate research and the instruments they used.

Social-Personality Psychology Questionnaire Instrument Compendium (QIC)
Limited coverage, but links only to pages where the full instrument is shown and freely available online.
 
Decision Making Individual Differences Inventory (DMIDI)
A catalog of over 170 individual difference measures commonly used in judgment and decision making research. Limited but useful.
 

Hours and Locations