Login to LibApps

COM 310 - Interpersonal Communication: COM 310 - Interpersonal Communication

Provides information on key library resources for COM310, Interpersonal Communication
Subjects: Communication

APA Citations

Most electronic resources now provide a citation for the item being viewed.  But sometimes these provided citations are incorrect.  Use these resources to review and assure that your citations are correct!

APA Web Guide from the OWL at Purdue  

A comparably thorough and easy to use guide, only for APA.

Citation Fox

Contains templates and examples for over 500 different resource types, sorted by type of resource (book, journal article, etc.)  Provided by the University Libraries at University at Albany SUNY

Getting Help

ASU Libraries provides varied options for obtaining help with your research, when you need it.  The Libraries offers live assistance

  • with 24/7 chat
  • by phone
  • by email
  • in person
    walk-in or by appointment

For more information connect to 

Ask a Librarian 

Ask a Librarian


Interpersonal communication crosses multiple disciplines.  The principles of interpersonal communication are addressed in the literature of many fields, including sociology, psychology, business, and medicine, among others.

Article indexes and databases in the field of Communication will be most useful, but subject databases in these other fields can provide additional information.

Many scholars in communication also write chapters for books, so the ASU Libraries online catalog is also an excellent resource for assignments in this course.

Article Indexes and Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete (C&MMC)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is the essential database/index for researching communication topics at Arizona State University.

How to Search in Communication and Mass Media Complete
C&MMC runs on the Ebsco database structure.  This brief tutorial on using Academic Search Premier covers the basics of searching in all Ebsco databases.

Advanced Tools in Ebsco databases (tutorial) This additional tutorial provides training for advanced tools in Ebsco databases including saving records in folders and emailing search results.


Sociological Abstracts

This is the go-to index for all matters of theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.


Searching the Online Catalog

Keyword searching is the most powerful approach to finding books in the ASU Libraries online catalog.  

"Interpersonal communication" returns more than 7300 items.

Add additional terms with the connector "and" to narrow the results.  Examples:

interpersonal communication and conflict

interpersonal communication and dating

interpersonal communication and family interpersonal communication and relationships

Open individual records in your search results to see titles of book chapters and/or subject headings assigned to item.  Subject headings in the catalog records are hotlinks that when clicked on with produce a new search of items with that subject heading.

Search the ASU Libraries Online Catalog

Your Librarian

deg farrelly

Hayden Library C1H1



Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations