Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

SOC 325 Science, Technology, and Public Policy

Introduction

Need a basic introduction to citing your sources?

 

Links to Help Guides for different writing/citation styles:

APA (American Psychological Association) Style

Condensed Guides:

 

Full Guide:

  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 2010.
    BF76.7 .P83 2010, 2-hour Reserve (ask at the Information Desk for this copy)
    Older editions of the APA Manual are available in the stacks of various ASU Library. 

Chicago Manual of Style

Condensed Guides: 

 

Full Guide:

 

IEEE Style Manuals

IEEE has two major style manuals:

MLA (Modern Language Association) Style

Condensed Guides:

 

Full Guide:

ACS (American Chemical Society) Style

With the new, third edition of this guide, the ACS is recommending a longer citation format that includes article titles; however, abbreviations for journal titles are still preferred.  Approved abbreviations for the top chemistry journals are found at Chemical Abstracts Service's website and in the book version of the Guide, on pages 328-339.  

Condensed Guides:

 

Full Guide:

  • Coghill, Anne M.; Garson, Lorrin R.  ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information. 3rd ed. Washington D.C.: American Chemical Society, 2006. 
    Online and paper copies available in the ASU Library:
    • Noble Library: QD8.5 .A25 2006, located in the Science Reference collection on the 1st floor
    • West Campus Library: QD8.5 .A25 2006

AIP (American Institute of Physics) Style

  • AIP Style Manual 4th ed., 1990
    The book is no longer available for purchase, so AIP has it available online for free.  The citations examples are found in Section II (Preparing a Scientific Paper for Publication) on page 9.  A print version of the manual is available in the High Density Collection off campus: QC 5.45 .A45 1990. Request the book here.

    Although the manual is out-dated, this style is still used by some physics journals.  Note: The abbreviated form of citation prescribed in this manual is falling out of favor and being replaced by the more modern citation style that includes the article title and full journal title; be sure this older, abbreviated style is what your instructor, or the journal to which you are submitting the article, wants.  

RefWorks Videos

The quickest and easiest way to manage the citations from your library research is to use citation management software.  The ASU Library, along with the University Technology Office (UTO), have made RefWorks software freely available for ASU students and faculty to use. 

Most library databases have a "direct export" feature that makes it easy to transfer records into RefWorks.  RefWorks will store your records on a Internet-accessible server so you can access them from anywhere with just a web browser.  RefWorks will create bibliographies in any one of over 300 citation styles and, with the free Write'n'Cite plug-in, RefWorks will also format your WORD document in addition to your citation list.

RefWorks is available at http://www.asu.edu/refworks.

RefWorks is easy to use but if you would like to make sure that you are getting the most out of this software, the ASU Library hold intro and advanced RefWorks classes during the Fall, Spring and Summer sessions; see our library instruction schedule at http://lib.asu.edu/instruction/workshops

Detailed instructions on using RefWorks are available at: http://www.refworks.com.ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu/tutorial/

RefWorks: The Students' Ultimate Tool for Bibliography

 

 

A Library Minute with Anali
RefWorks

 

 

Sign up for a free RefWorks account at http://www.asu.edu/refworks/

Subjects: Sociology

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.