Login to LibApps

Chicano/a Research Collection (CRC): Welcome - Bienvenidos

A great source for Chicano/a and Mexican American history!

Subject Guide

Nancy Godoy
Contact:
(480)965-2594

About Us

We're an archival repository that preserves Chicano/a and Mexican American history in Arizona and the Southwest. Since 1970, we've compiled a distinguished collection of manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, and ephemera. Today, we continue to acquire primary and secondary sources that complement the instructional and research needs of the ASU community and the general public.

_________________________________________

Somos un depósito de archivos que preserva la historia del Chicano/a y del Méxicoamericano en Arizona y el Suroeste. Desde 1970, hemos compilado una distinguida colección de recursos primarios y secundarios que complementan las necesidades de enseñanza y investigación de la comunidad de ASU y el público en general.

Like & Follow Us!  

What Do We Collect?

Personal Records: Material that documents an individual’s life and achievements. (e.g. Diaries, Correspondence, Oral Histories)

Family Records: Material that documents a family’s history and roots in Arizona and the Southwest. (e.g. Genealogy Records, Family Artifacts, Photographs)

Organization Records: Material that documents an organizations history and their work with a community. (e.g. Meeting Minutes, Correspondence, Financial Records)

Published Material: Material that focuses on Chicano/a and Mexican history and culture. (e.g. Rare Books, Newspapers, Recordings)

For more information about our collections, take a look at our Bilingual Brochure below! 

We Need You!

Help us preserve history and culture! 

Your donation will be used to process collections, purchase archival supplies, for educational workshops, digital projects, and conservation work.

 

Mail the donation form with check to:

Attn: Chicano/a Research Collection
Arizona State University
PO Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287

Make checks payable to the ASU Foundation. Your gift may be considered a charitable contribution. Please consult your tax advisor regarding the deductibility of charitable contributions. If you have any questions, please contact Nancy Liliana Godoy.

Chicano/a Research Collection History

1970 - The Chicano Studies Collection was established in response to the academic needs of ASU Chicano/a students and faculty. At first, the collection consisted of a circulating book collection that reflected the current philosophy of the Chicano Movement. This generation of Chicanos/as wanted recognition of Mexican American history, culture, language, and tradition.

1985 - The collection became a part of the Department of Archives and Special Collections. This department also included the Arizona Collection, the University Archives, the Benedict Visual Literacy Collection, Special Collections, Child Drama Collection, and the Labriola Collection.

1989 - The Chicano Studies Collection was renamed the Chicano/a Research Collection.

Check out this Podcast! An interview with Dr. Christine Marin.

Chat With Our Librarian

Hours & Location

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Were located at Hayden Library, Luhrs Reading Room, 4th Floor.

Mon - Fri: 9 AM-6 PM
Sat: By Appointment Only
Sun: Closed

Volunteer Opportunities

Interested in volunteering? Fill out the application below and email to nancy.godoy@asu.edu

Job Duties: Processing - Organize, determine appropriate storage, create and translate finding aids. Reference - Conduct preliminary research and answer reference questions.

Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations