CHM 108: Chemistry and Society
Need Help?
Need some more help finding resources??
Click here to use the ASU Library Ask-A-Librarian Service
Need more help?? Email me and set up a reference appointment.
Library Activity
Learning Objectives
At the end of this instruction session, students will be able to:
- Identify and describe characteristics of a robust website
- Distinguish between electronic library resources and internet resources
- Examine and evaluate the differences between popular and scholarly resources.
- Create an annotated bibliography of resources.
Website Evaluation
Article Exercise
Searching for Journal Articles
- Academic Search Ultimate (EbscoHost)Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Includes newspaper, magazine and scholarly articles.
For the Lab Exercise -
- Use the search terms Alternative fuels and cars
- Compare and contrast the databases below with a Google Search
For the Annotated Bibliography -
- Use a database of your choice to search for articles on your topic.
Use the Get It button or Full Text link to access full text articles.
- Opposing ViewpointsFull-text database providing different points of view on controversial topics. Indexes viewpoint essays and some scholarly articles.
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Does not access all publishers!
APA Citation Style
From your completed worksheet, you'll have all the components needed to cite your sources in APA style. Here's an example of a journal article in APA style:
Villarreal, M. A. (2006). Finding our place: Reconstructing community through oral history.
The Oral History Review, 33(2), 45-64. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/4495382
Use the following guides to help you with types of references.
- Examples of APA citation StyleFrom the Citation Styles Library Guide
- Guidelines for an APA Reference ListFrom the Citation Styles Library Guide
Session Feedback
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
