Login to LibApps

Classical Studies: Home

Resources relating to Classical Studies with particular emphasis upon the languages, literatures and histories of Greece, Rome and the Ancient World.

How to reach me

Ed is available to assist students with their research needs through the Libraries' dedicated subject liaison program.  Ed is on the Tempe campus.  My office address is Hayden C1T. Telephone: (480) 965-4579 or email: edding@asu.edu.  In addition, during the semester I will hold office hours in History, SHPRS.  I will be in  Coor  room 4499C on Mondays and Thursdays; 9:00 – 11:30am or by appointment.

Getting Started

Best Places to Get Started

  

Welcome to the Classical Studies Library Guide.  The best way to navigate through through this site is by using the tabs at the top of each page.  Let me give a brief explanation as to how each section is organized and what it contains.  Let's start with:

ASU Databases  This section primarily consists of databases that index and in some cases provide full text access to  to resources that will aid in research in Classical Studies Studies in a variety of fields.. With few exceptions, these databases are accessible off-campus only to the current ASU community(students, faculty and staff).  

Bibliographic Resources  Both ASU access only and open access web resources dealing with bibliographic resources for Classical Studies

Primary Sources    In many ways, "primary sources" for classical studies means the original written texts. Through the internet, it is now possible to gain access to a huge wealth of primary source material that in the past would have been available only through visiting libraries and archives.  The Primary Sources page is divided into two main categories: resources available through ASU Libraries and sites freely available on the Internet.  The Primary Sources page concludes with a section on how to evaluate primary sources on the Internet.

Web Resources  The web sites on this page are all available on the internet and do not necessarily fit into any of the other categories.  

Citing Sources  Collected here are several links for sites relating to citation manual sources and to RefWorks.

Reference and Electronic Resource Collections  This page includes reference works, both in print and in e-format as well as lists of e book and e journal collections.

 

 

ASU Libraries Catalog Search


Search here for books, music, videos and journal titles:

By Title

By Author

By Subject Heading

WorldCat (Open Access)

Subject Guide

Ed Oetting
Contact:
My office is located in Hayden Library Room C1T.
Call me at 480-965-4579

Complementary ASU Library Guides

History
by Ed OettingBee Gallegos - last updated on Aug 13th, 2010
History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

 

History for Online Degree programs  This guide is intended for students in the online Bachelor's in History degree.  It does not cover materials physically accessible at ASU Libraries.

 Literature Reviews and Annotated Bibliographies
by Ed Oetting - last updated on Jan 10, 2012

 

Medieval and Rennaissance Studies  by Rachel Leket-Mor  Resources covering Medieval and Rennaissance Studies, ca 800 - 1700

 

Philosophy   by Rachel Leket-Mor 

Primary Sources
by Ed Oetting - last updated on Dec 9, 2011
This guide will provide access and links to the substantial and ever-growing wealth of primary sources available through ASU Libraries or freely-accessible through the Internet
 
 
Arizona State University Libraries

ASU Libraries

Arizona State University
P.O. Box 871006
Tempe, AZ 85287
Phone: 480-965-3605

Federal Depository Library Program Emblem

Hours & Locations