Archive: Science and Technology
Citation Basics
In addition to keeping oneself out of trouble with copyright compliance rules and university conduct policies, citing your sources allows others to reproduce and build on your research, creating new scholarship.
- The OWL at PurdueThe Online Writing Lab at Purdue University is a popular resource that many instructors refer to in their classes. Links to many resources.
Skills for Your Senior Project and Beyond
Use the following tutorials to learn to evaluate resources, both for academic work and for your job later on.
Key Databases
- Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983Indexes articles from over 2,000 applied science and business periodicals. The database includes the complete content of the Industrial Arts Index, published 1913 to 1958. Content after 1958 comes from the Applied Science & Technology Index and Business Periodicals Index.
- EI CompendexCovers the entire spectrum of engineering, including journals, conference papers & technical reports. Besides applied engineering, coverage also extends to manufacturing, qualitycontrol, and engineering management issues.
- Aerospace & High Technology DatabaseProvides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields.
- NTISIndexes U.S. government & world wide government-sponsored research. Covers such topics as engineering, biotechnology, computers, the environment, health & safety, business, sciences, & social sciences. Many items are difficult to locate elsewhere.
- knovelA collection of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings
- ABI InformCovers articles from over 1,100 English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas. Full text and images included for selected articles.
- Academic Search PremierFind journal articles for all subjects; great place for undergraduates to start their journal article search.
Government Resources
- National Coordination Office for Networking and Information Technology Research and DevelopmentA source of timely, high-quality, technically accurate, in-depth information on IT R&D accomplishments, new directions, and critical challenges that IT leaders, policy makers and the public can use to maximize social and economic benefits.
- National Institute of Standards and TechnologyThe NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.
- National Institutes of HealthThe National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
- National Renewable Energy LaboratoryNREL is a national laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy.
- National Sciencce Foundation Online Documents SystemThe National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…"
- Science.govScience.gov is a search engine for government science information and research results.
- ToxNetDatabases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
- TRIS Online - Transportation Research Information ServicesThe world's largest and mostcomprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation information. Covers transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media. Includes links to selected full text.
Superhero
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
