United States Place Names
US States, Place Names
World Place Names
Country Place Names
- Antarctica
- Composite Gazetteer of Antarctica - An inernational gazetteer from the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR).
- Antarctic Geographic Place Names - Search for Antarctic Place Names approved by the US Board on Geographic Names.
- Australian Antarctic Gazetteer - Search for place names in the Australian Antarctic and Sub-Antarctic Territory.
- Index of German-Language Antarctic Place Names - A list of German Antarctic Place Names and their latitude and longitude.
- Composite Gazetteer of Antarctica - An inernational gazetteer from the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR).
- Australia
- Australian Geographic Place Names - The Australian Geographic Place Names site from the Australian Surveying & Land Information Group.
- Australian Capital Territory - Public places in Canberra, Australia's capital.
- New South Wales - Place Name site from New South Wales Land and Property Information.
- Northern Territory - Place Names in the Northern Territory from NT Lands Planning and Environment.
- South Australia - Place Names Online South Australian State Gazetteer.
- Victoria - Signpost, the Place Names in Victoria web site.
- Western Australia - Names and places in Western Australia from the Department of Land Administration.
- Australian Geographic Place Names - The Australian Geographic Place Names site from the Australian Surveying & Land Information Group.
- Belgium
- Place Names in Belgium - An alphabetical list of cities, towns and hamlets in Belgium. This site gives the postal code and province for cities, towns and villages in Belgium.
- Canada
- Canadian Geographical Names / Les noms géographiques du Canada - The Canadian Geographical Names site, produced by Natural Resources Canada, provides access to a searchable database containing over 500,000 place names in Canada. Information on the origins of some Canadian place names can be found at the Geographical Names Origins site.
- British Columbia Place Names - Search for place names in British Columbia. Provides location and topographic map sheet showing the place or feature. Also has an option to do "sounds like" searches. In some cases, the place may be displayed on a digital map.
- Quebec - Quebec has two sites for place names. They include a site from the Commission de toponymie du Québec (French Only) and another searchable database that links to maps.
- Northwest Territories Place Names - Search for place names in the Northwest Territories. Provides location and topographic map sheet showing the place or feature. A map showing the feature's location can also be displayed.
- Place Names in Denmark - This site contains alphabetical lists of authorized place names in Denmark. Each list contains information on place names the parish and the administrative district. In Danish.
- Place Names Database of Estonia - Since it declared its independence in 1991, Estonia has renamed a number of places. This site is a searchable database that contains current names for places in Estonia as well as variant names.
- Finland - The National Land Survey of Finland's MapSite. Registration required.
- France
- Communes Search - The searchable database of French parishes and townships from the Institut Géographique National.
- Place Names Search - The searchable database of over 2,000,000 French place names from the Institut Géographique National.
- Communes Search - The searchable database of French parishes and townships from the Institut Géographique National.
- Germany
- Atlas des Deutschen Reichs / Atlas of the German Empire - Scanned images of the maps and gazetteer of this 1883 atlas by Ludwig Ravenstein are provided by the University of Wisconsin. It covers Germany as well as neiboring countries.
- Horlacher Genealogy Site - This genealogy site includes links to several gazetteers.
- Atlas des Deutschen Reichs / Atlas of the German Empire - Scanned images of the maps and gazetteer of this 1883 atlas by Ludwig Ravenstein are provided by the University of Wisconsin. It covers Germany as well as neiboring countries.
- Great Britain
- Landranger Map Place Names Search - This site allows users to search for place names appearing on the Landranger maps. For each place name searched, this system provides information on the Landranger map number that contains the place, the type of feature and its latitude and longitude.
- Get a Map - The Ordnance Survey's Get a Map system.
- Multimap.com Interactive Atlas - A site that provides detailed maps when a British place name is entered.
- British Online Historical Gazetteer - A system to query historical place names listed in the Parish tables from the 1911 census.
- Parish Database - A database of over 14000 churches and register offices in the United Kingdom from the UK and Ireland Genealogy Web Site.
- Landranger Map Place Names Search - This site allows users to search for place names appearing on the Landranger maps. For each place name searched, this system provides information on the Landranger map number that contains the place, the type of feature and its latitude and longitude.
- Hungary - An alphabetical list of cities in Hungary with their population.
- Luxembourg Gazetteer of Villages and Towns - An alphabetical list of place names in Luxembourgish with their French and German equivalents.
- New Zealand Geographic Place-Names Database - A database of over 40,000 place names that appear on current New Zealand topographic maps and some historical maps.
- Project Perseus Atlas - Locate and plot sites related to the Greek world and the Mediterranean region. The atlas has drawings, digital elevation models, satellite images and three-dimensional topographic views.
- Scandinavia - The Nordic Place Names Database, hosted by the National Land Survey of Finland, contains place names for Denmark, Faeroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Norway and Sweden. Registration required
- Scotland - Two sites are available for Scotland. They are:
- Gazetteer for Scotland - This site describes itself as a comprehensive geographical database of "towns, villages, bens and glens from the Scottish Borders to the Northern Isles."
- Scottish Parishes - Scottish Place Names Society's list of parishes in Scotland.
- Gazetteer for Scotland - This site describes itself as a comprehensive geographical database of "towns, villages, bens and glens from the Scottish Borders to the Northern Isles."
- Sweden - Two sites are available for Sweden. They are:
- Swedish Place Names Lexicon - Place name list for Sweden. Each entry identifies the type of place, the parish, jurisdictional district and district. In Swedish.
- Swedish National Atlas Place Names Register - Enter a place name and the location of the site is shown on a map of Sweden. Also gives area and population statistics.
- Swedish Place Names Lexicon - Place name list for Sweden. Each entry identifies the type of place, the parish, jurisdictional district and district. In Swedish.
-
Switzerland - SwissGeo is a database that can be used to search for a place by name or address and view the 1:50,000 topographic map showing that place.
Map/GIS Librarian |
Roger KnouffContact Info:
3rd Floor, Noble Science & Engineering Library,
Map Collection
Phone: 480-965-5973
Send Email
Subjects:
Astronomy, Geography, Geology, GIS, Ecology, Environmental Science, Sustainability
3rd Floor, Noble Science & Engineering Library,
Map Collection
Phone: 480-965-5973
Send Email
Subjects:
Astronomy, Geography, Geology, GIS, Ecology, Environmental Science, Sustainability
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait