1. Web of Science2. Google Scholar3. Alternative Methods
1. Using Journal Citation Reports2. Alternative Sources for Journal Rankings
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Citation Research 

How to find citation counts for your publications and how to find journal rankings.
Last update: Oct 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/citation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

2. Alternative Sources for Journal Rankings            Print Page
  
 

Sources for Journal Rankings

For an overview on the topic, see the Introduction under the Journal Rankings tab.

Eigenfactor.org

A free and searchable database, Eigenfactor covers the natural and social sciences and "also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more."

The website includes an interactive mapping function that shows the relationship of branches of science to each other based on the size of the field and the citations generated by the journals of the field. Rather than the "soft" categories used in Journal Citation Reports, where a journal may be located in one or more categories, Eigenfactor uses a hard category where a journal can only fit in one discipline.

The website include several quick top ten lists in science, social science, university theses, newspapers, and magazines.

Harzing.com

"This site provides information, online papers and resources about Harzing's areas of research: International and Cross-cultural Management. It also presents resources to assist with academic publishing and the assessment of research and journal quality, as well as software to conduct citation analysis."

Humanities Journal Rankings

European Science Foundation's subgroup for the Humanities.  Scroll down to see a table that contains links to journal rankings in the Humanities.

Journal -Ranking.com

This source ranks journals that are indexed by ISI's Science Citation Index. The website allows you to customize your ranking and is interactive.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database. Includes a "compare" feature that compares journal citation among countries. There is also a "map generator" that shows citation relationships by country.

 
 

Contact Us

Citation Research Group:
  Lydia LaFaro
  Linda Shackle
  Leslee Shell

Email Us

For information related to your specialty, contact your subject librarian .

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait