This is the "Home" page of the "Daoist (Taoist) Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Daoist (Taoist) Studies   Tags: religious, studies  

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=125767 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Resources

American Academy of Religion Daoist Studies. This portal provides access to texts, translations, images, and forums on various Daoist topics.

Asia Society provides a brief overview of Daoism

Internet Sacred Texts Archive Taoism contains English translations of many of the principle Taoist texts.

Temples, Urban Society and Taoist Project focuses on how temple communities, lay urbanites, and professional Daoist interact.

 

Images, Videos, and Webcasts

Hunan: Monks, Artists, and Mummies (44 minutes) provides a look at Daoist and Buddhist temples in Hunan Provice.

Inner journey [videorecording] : the path of mysticism / produced by Nick Brigden, Steve Nemsick ; directed by Nick Brigden ; written by Nick Brigden (Location: Hayden Lower Level, BL 625.I564 2004 DVD)

Minneapolis Institute of Arts: The Art of Asia Collection: Daoist Art. Images from the collection including pottery, textiles, and paintings,

Taoism and the Arts of China. Images from the 2000 exhibition at the Art Institute of Chicago. The library also has the exhibition catalog (Location: Hayden Stacks N8199.T3 L58 2000)

Yongle Gong contains a stunning ancient wall mural seen by few.

 

 

Information

There are two English words for 道教 (daojiao) Taoism and Daoism. Taoism used the Wade system of transcription; however, for the last 20 years or so the PRC pinyin transcription (Daoism) has gained prominence. The important thing to remember is that Taoism and Daoism are the same thing.

When searching in the ASU Libraries Catalog instead of keywords try Subject  Taoism -- China or Taoism -- Rituals.

 

Library One Search

Library One Search - Try It!

Additional "Library One Search" Pages


For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Libraries Toolbar into your web browser.
Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Libraries Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

 

Journals

Daoism: religion, history, and society is a peer-reviewed international journal dedicated to the publication of original research articles exploring Daoism in its social and historical contexts. This journal is an annual and is in the current periodicals area of Hayden Library.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Ralph Gabbard
Logo - MSN
Contact Info
Hayden Library
Tempe campus
Office C1U
(480) 765-0620
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip