China ResourcesJapan ResourcesJapanese Language ResourcesChinese Language resourcesChinese ReligionsKorea
Course PagesHST 498 Mahatma GandhiHST 494 Women and IslamHST 300: Colonialism and Violence
This is the "Home" page of the "Asian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Asian Studies   Tags: asian_studies, history, islam, literature, philosophy, religion  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/asianstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Images and Videos

Asia Film Online streams culturally and historically significant films from Asia that entertain, educate and inspire viewers to think beyond boundaries. The collection includes films from Southeast Asia, South Asia, and East Asia.

Far East: Expeditions to empires-Albert Khan's archive of the planet. (51 minutes) From 1914 through much of the 1920s, Albert Kahn’s photographic team was hard at work in Asia, amassing culturally and historically vital images for the Archive of the Planet. 

Journeys into Islam (201 minutes, 4 DVDs) this 4-part series shows how Islam has spread and flourished throughout Asia and Africa since the time of Muhammad

 

Primary Sources

Century Journals Project Archive  The Century Journals Project is the single largest retrospective digital collection of 20th Century Chinese Journals. It presents more than 3,500 full-text Chinese journals from 1906 through 1993. The ASU Libraries has Series F - Literature/History/Philosophy.

Japan Center for Asian Historical Records 

JACAR is a digital database testifying to Japan's historical relations in Asia as well as elsewhere. This site provides access to official documents—dating from the Meiji era through 1945—of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy.

 

Scripta Sinica  The Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale. Hundreds of titles pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.

Xenophobia in seventeenth-century India  This book carefully brings to life the famous and obscure people who made the era, from the Dutch painter Heda to queen Khadija and from maharaja Shivaji to the English rebel Keigwin.

 

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier (Includes some full text) A great place to start to search for magazine and journal articles on almost all topics. Tip: Check "peer reviewed" box to limit your search to scholarly journals.

ACLS Humanities Ebook  The ACLS Humanities EBook is a collaboration of eight learned societies, nearly 75 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan?s Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies    (BAS Online)
(1971+) Covers western-language materials in the field of Asian Studies. Indexes books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc.

British Humanities Index (BHI): 1962-Current
The database is an online index to (1962+) humanities journals and weekly magazines published in Great Britain and other English speaking nations including newspapers in UK

Dissertations and Theses  (1861+) Indexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also covers masters theses since 1962. Starting in the early to mid-1900's, the full text is included for an increasingly comprehensive number of dissertations and theses.  

Historical Abstracts  Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes article abstracts and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations published since 1954 on the history of the world except for North America covering the time period from 1450 to the present,

Historical Abstracts Tutorial 

Index Islamicus. The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. The Unit was established in 1983 to continue the compilations and publications of the Index Islamicus bibliography and to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have been part of the curriculum at Cambridge University since the early 17th century. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  The pre-eminent online dictionary containing 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. An illustrated collection of remarkable people in any walk of life.  A must use resource for any history of Britain and its peoples.

Periodical Archives Online- (1770-1995) Includes full text;
Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.

Periodical Index Online, 1665 - 1995

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer  A digital archive including the Guardian (1821- 2003) and The Observer (1791-2003). More than 212 years of continuous, independent reporting that covers the best in arts, politics, business, and sports.

Women's Studies International (1972+) (1972+) Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)  Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Includes bibliographic records for any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. 

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Ralph Gabbard
Contact Info
Hayden Library
Tempe campus
Office C1U
(480) 765-0620
Send Email

Your librarian

Profile Image
Qian Liu
Contact Info
Hayden Library, C1-Q, (480)965-1606
Send Email

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Ed Oetting
Contact Info
My office address is Hayden C1T. Telephone: (480) 965-4579 or email: edding@asu.edu.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip