This is the "Home" page of the "Geospatial Resources for Architecture and Engineering Site Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geospatial Resources for Architecture and Engineering Site Information   Tags: 225, 227, 361, 590, air quality, ala, architecture, contour, engineering, fauna, flora, geology, geospatial, gis, groundwater, map, maps, resources, soil, soils, topo, topographic  

This guide suggests online, database, and print resources for architectural and engineering students researching a specific location.
Last Updated: Jul 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=147514 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Resources

Climate - Arizona State Climate Office

Topography

USGS Map Locator and Downloader Free downloads of topographic maps are available from the U.S. Geological Survey.  Zoom and scroll to the needed  location in the map search box.  Select the Mark Points option to the right of the map. Click on the map in your area of interest.  Click on the red place marker to view the maps available for download.  Maps are also available for purchase via this list by clicking on the "buy" link.

Historic and  the most current available in print form at the ASU Libraries Map Collection.

Google Earth Library has map overlays of the most recent topographic maps for Arizona.

ArcGIS Explorer has topgraphic map layers. 

Physical

Soils - For soil maps of Moeur Park or San Tan Regional Park, see files listed at the bottom of this page.  For other study areas, use a USDA soil survey such as the Soil survey, eastern Maricopa and northern Pinal Counties area, Arizona.  Contains structural engineering information, along with some flora/fauna information associated with particular soils.  The text of this soil survey is available online.  GIS Soil Shapefiles that correspond to these soil surveys are available for the entire State of Arizona via the ASU GIS Data Repository (Under... AZ_Data_by_Topic\Natural_Features\Soils).  These Shapefiles can be converted to KML or CAD files using Esri's ArcMap's Toolbox Conversion Tools.  ASU Students, Faculty, Staff have access to ArcMap through MyASU MyApps or on computers in the ASU Libraries Map Collection.

Air Quality - Arizona Department of Environmental QualityAir monitoring plans and annual reports back to year 2000.

Groundwater

USGS Water Resources of Arizona

USGS Water Resources of the United States

USGS Groundwater depth - Interactive atlas of groundwater levels

USGS Water Data for the Nation - Surface water, groundwater, and water quality data and mapper for the U.S.

Water Resources Information Center  - From the University of Arizona.

Curriculum Guide for the Water Resources Poster

Watershed - Surf Your Watershed - EPA watershed profile for the lower Salt River.

Pollution - Pollution Locator - created by UC-Berkeley.

Shadow Direction and Length

United States Naval Observatory Sun Altitude and Azimuth Table Calculator  For a given day, provides the altitude of the sun (angle of the sun above the horizon) and the azimuth (Compass direction from where the is shining. Add or subtract 180 degrees to calculate the direction of the shadow.)

Sandburg Center for Sky Awareness - Shadow Length Calculator Calculates the lenght of an object's shadow base on the altitude of the sun.

Geology -

Arizona Geological Survey Geological and ground structure information is available online.

Geological maps are available at the Map Collection.

Flora and Fauna

Birds of North America

Map of Life Allows one to retrieve a list of species for the vicinity of any location worldwide.

U.S. Bureau of Land Management (BLM) GIS data for Arizona - Contains a variety of shapefiles and coverages for ecological, habitat, mineral, and wildlife management areas within Arizona.  (Requires use of GIS software such as ArcGIS Explorer or ArcGIS.)

Historical Background

Newspapers - Arizona Republic - limit search by data ranges.

Library Catalog - search for books or thematic maps.

Canal Maps,  Vegetation, Irrigated Land....

Digital Sanborn Maps

Aerial Photography

Landiscor Photo Atlases - 1970 to 2005.  Annual aerial photography and zoning information. Available in the ASU Libraries Map Collection.

Maricopa County Tax Assessor Aerial Photography - various years, 1986 to 1996 available in the Map Collection.

Maricopa County Flood Control District Historical Aerial Photography, 1930 to 2007.  This map viewer requires the use of Internet Explorer web browser.

Arizona Imagery Server - Detailed aerial photography from 2005, 2007, and 2010.

 

GIS Resources

GIS Data Sources

EPA ArcGIS Server for water-related GIS data.  This is not a web browser url, but rather a an ArcGIS server address.  Lots of information available from office locations to scaled watersheds for the United States. watersgeo.epa.gov/ArcGIS/services/WC/WaterShedsWC  Can be used with ArcGIS Explorer.  Under "Add Content," select "Add GIS Services." Go to the WC folder for watershed information.

 

Custom Topographic Maps for ADE 521 and ANP 494

 

Soils and Geological Information for Moer Park and San Tan Mountain Park

Map Collection Specialist

Profile Image
Karina E. Wilhelm
Contact Info
Map Collection
3rd floor Noble Library
(480) 965-5183
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip