This is the "Home" page of the "REL 405: Religion and the City" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

REL 405: Religion and the City   Tags: religion, religious_studies  

Last Updated: Mar 2, 2011 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=183975 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Virtual City Tours and Online Guides

I included several virtual city tours; however, most are commerical so you may be directed to those parts of a city that the provider wants you to see and there are ads. In addition, you can Google lots of cities and you will find some kind of video view of the selected city or region.

  • Virtual Tourist - This site does lots of traveler added videos.
  • 36o Travel Guide - You have to search around at this site. There are lots of tours of hotels etc but there some very interesting videos as well.
  • Panoramic Earth - Linked to Google Maps.
  • camvista.com - I'm not sure what I think about this site but it provides webcams in various cities around the world.
  • Check My City provides videos of various cities around the world.
  • BBC Travel is assoicated with Lonely Planet and provides videos, images and articles.

There are quite a few online travel guides often associated with governments including:

Another source with free videos and other free materials is Lonely PlanetRough Guides also provides free images and articles.

 

Videos and Images

Exploring Cambodia's temples off the beaten track

Sacred Destinations is an ecumenical guide to more than 1,250 sacred sites, holy places, pilgrimage destinations, religious architecture and sacred art in over 60 countries around the world. .

 

 

Selected Sources

Spaces of Modernity: religion and the urban in Asia and Africa (2008); Mary Hancock and Smriti Srinivas; International Journal of Urban and Regional Research; 32(3) pgs 617-630 

Faith in the market: religion and the rise of urban commercial culture (2002) /edited by John M. Giggie and Diane Winston; New Brunwick, N.J.: Rutgers UP (BX 2025 .F35 2002; two copies, one in Hayden the second at West)

 

The Fundamentalist City?: Religiosity and the Remaking of Urban Space ( I ordered this eBook, it should show up in the catalog in the next couple of weeks.)


 

 

Databases

There are several databases that cover articles on religion and cities including:

 

Web Resources

ArchNet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations.

H-Urban Web Links - Provides links to many websites related to urban history and urban studies, all reviewed and screened by academic professionals affiliated with H-Urban.  Sites can be sorted by title, subject, or location. 

Maps of U.S. and World Cities - From the University of Texas library.  If you can’t find it here, they have an excellent set of links to other map sites. 

Jerusalem Old City Initiative will develop creative options for the governance and management of the Old City of Jerusalem in preparation for a negotiated settlement between Israelis and Palestinians. The powerful symbolic and emotional attachment which these two peoples have for the Old City and its holy sites requires careful preparatory work and discussion in order to create possible paths to a just and lasting peace.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Take a look at the Pew-Templeton Global Religious Futures Project on the site. 

Sacred Sites Since ancient times, sacred sites have had a mysterious allure for billions of people around the world. Legends and contemporary reports tell of extraordinary experiences people have had while visiting these places. Different sacred sites have the power to heal the body, enlighten the mind and inspire the heart. What is the key to the mystery of the sacred sites and how are we to explain their power? Anthropologist Martin Gray has spent twenty-five years studying and photographing hundreds of sacred sites in more than one hundred countries. On this web site Martin discusses the mythology and history of sacred sites and presents a fascinating explanation of the miraculous phenomena that occur at them.

Social Explorer - Provides easy access to current and historic census data, through interactive maps as well as tabular reports.

The United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN-HABITAT, is the United Nations agency for human settlements. It is mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.

The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.

World Heritage Foundation founded in 1998 to promote UNESCO's World Heritage Program. The emphasis is China and Asia.

 

Library One Search

Library One Search - Try It!

Additional "Library One Search" Pages


For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Libraries Toolbar into your web browser.
Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Libraries Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Ralph Gabbard
Contact Info
Hayden Library
Tempe campus
Office C1U
(480) 965-0620
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip