West campus Guide for NUR 381 - Nursing Practice I
This is the "Home" page of the "NUR 381" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NUR 381  

This guide contains resources for NUR 381
Last Updated: Aug 15, 2013 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=24160 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bibliographies

Nesbit Guide to Evidence-Based Resources
Links to resources from the Miner Library at the University of Rochester

Evidence-Based Practice Resources on the World Wide Web
List of resources links compiled by the Academic Center for Evidence-Base Nursing by University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Evidence Based Nursing
Links to resources, articles, tools and other information on evidence based nursing compiled by the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina 

Evidence-Based Medicine
List of resources compiled by librarians at Tompkins-McCaw Library 

 

ONLINE Journals that focus on Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence Based Practice

Best Practice Guidelines
Best Practice Guidelines developed by Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) as part of their nursing best practice guidelines project begun in 1999

Best Practice Information Sheets
Summary information on best practice guidelines by the Joanna Briggs Institute of Australia. The guideline summaries are searchable

RCN Clinical Guidelines
Practice guidelines from the Royal College of Nursing (RCN) in the United Kingdom

 

Electronic journals

This is a select list of electronic nursing journals available through the ASU Libraries. To view a complete list of online journals click here.  

Use this list to browse a journal(s) of interest. However if you want to find articles on a specific topic it is more efficient to search a nursing database such as CINAHL. See the "Top 5 Nursing Databases" box at the top left of this page.

American Journal of Critical Care

American Journal of Nursing - The Journal's mission is to promote excellence in professional nursing, with a global perspective, by providing cutting edge, evidence-based information that embraces a holistic perspective on health and nursing

Applied Nursing Research - Presents original, peer-reviewed research findings for clinical applications in all nursing specialties.

Biological Research for Nursing - Biological Research for Nursing covers biological science research targeted to improving nursing care.

BMC Nursing - Publishes original research articles in all aspects of nursing research, training, education, and practice.

Evidence Based Nursing - The purpose of Evidence-Based Nursing is to alert practising nurses to important and clinically relevant advances in treatment (including specific interventions and systems of care), diagnosis, aetiology, prognosis/outcome research, quality improvement, continuing education, economic evaluation, and qualitative research.

International Journal of Nursing Practice - Publishes original scholarly work that advances the international understanding and development of nursing both as a profession and as an academic discipline.

International Journal of Nursing Studies - Publishes original papers that report research findings and research-based reviews and analysis of interest to an international readership of nurses, midwives, educators, administrators and researchers in all areas of nursing and caring sciences

International Nursing Review - Examines the current concerns and issues of modern day nursing and health care from an international perspective

Journal of Advanced Nursing - Articles on the eclectic nature of global nursing, midwifery and health care.

Journal of Clinical Nursing - International, peer reviewed, scientific journal related to all spheres of nursing and midwifery practice.

Journal of Holistic Nursing - Articles which explore complementary and alternative health in nursing.

Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing - Explores & reports innovations, research & issues that shape state-of-the-art nursing practice in end-of-life care.

Journal of Infusion Nursing - Focuses exclusively on the practice of infusion therapy.

Journal of Nursing Education -Provides a forum for original articles and new ideas for nursing educators in various types and levels of nursing programs.

Journal of Nursing Management - Publishes articles on leadership, clinical management methods, management and organizational theories and their application to nursing, budget and resource allocation in health care, systems management, quality assurance, political issues and the provision of health care, information technology, business and strategic planning, as well as health policy.

Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic, and Neonatal Nursing (JOGNN)

New England Journal of Medicine - The New England Journal of Medicine publishes weekly reports of ground-breaking medical research and opinion.

Nurse Practitioner - Peer-reviewed articles that range from clinical topics and research to political and practice issues.

Nurse Researcher -Aimed at helping nurses understand research techniques

Nursing - Monthly, easy to read style, publishes articles on a wide range of topics in nursing.

Nursing and Health Sciences - Focuses on the international exchange of knowledge in nursing and health sciences, particularly between East and West

Nursing Education Perspectives - Forum for the exchange of information & ideas regarding nursing education & nursing faculty issues

Nursing Inquiry - Concerned with historical, methodological, ethical, policy and substantive issues relating to the everyday practice of nursing

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! -Focuses on breaking down challenging clinical concepts—the ones that are often difficult or confusing for the practicing nurse to grasp—and presenting them in a refreshingly original, easily understood, and engaging format.

Nursing Research - Covers health promotion, human responses to illness, acute care nursing research, symptom management, cost-effectiveness, vulnerable populations, health services, and community-based nursing studies.

Nursing Science Quarterly - Articles on nursing theory development, nursing theory-based practice and quantitative and qualitative research related to existing nursing frameworks

Nursing Standard -Nursing Standard publishes original research and clinical articles relevant to the practice of nursing. 

Oncology Nursing Forum - Covers information related to practice, technology, education, and research; promotes a positive image of oncology nursing; prints papers and stimulates discussion of critical issues relevant to oncology nursing

Preventive Medicine - Articles on cancer, cardiovascular disease, health education, individual and population risk factors, respiratory and infectious disease, public health planning, substance abuse, stroke and hypertension.

Research in Nursing and Health - Publishes a wide range of research and theory articles that will inform the practice of nursing and other health disciplines.

 

E-books

We have quite a few excellent nursing and medical books available online. These books are available 24/7 and can be read in whole or in part online. They are also searchable. Here are a few:

Conceptual Models of Nursing: Analysis and Application

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses

Delmar's Fundamental and Advanced Nursing Skills

Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnotic Tests

Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual

Foundations of Nursing Research

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine

Kozier and Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing: Concepts, Process and Practice

Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual, Sparks and Taylor's

Pediatric Nursing: Caring for Children and their Families

Taber's Cyclopedia Medical Dictionary

 

For others see:

Lippincott Springhouse Nursing Collection - A collection of 12 full text nursing books, available via Books@Ovid. Topics covered include Primary Care, Cardiac Nursing, etc.

Lippincott Clinical Choice Collection - A collection of 41 core medical textbooks covering most specialties.

Sage eReference- a collection of online reference books. Those related to nursing include: Encyclopedia of Disability, Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, Encyclopedia of Health Care Management.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip