SWG 512SWG 520SWG 534SWG 697SWU 171SWU 474SWU 494
E-BooksRecommended Subject Headings
More DatabasesSpecialized Databases
FMG on Demand (Streaming Video)
Print SourcesWeb Sources
Arizona OrganizationsFind a Healthcare ProfessionalHealth and Human Services OrganizationsNewslettersSocial Work Organizations
MSW ProgramsSocial Work Department Publications
EBSCOhost DatabasesWilson Web
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Social Work - West campus  Tags: social_work immigration refugees  

This guide, intended to assist students and faculty doing research on social work topics, provides an overview of key online and print resources available from Fletcher Library at West campus and the overall ASU Libraries.
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/socialwork-west  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SWG 520             Print Page
  

Getting Started

Once you have identified a research topic for your literature review, an important first step is identifying the various search tools you will use to conduct a thorough review of the published literature (print and online).

As far as journal articles are concerned, in general, I recommend searching Academic Search Premier, Social Service Abstracts, and PsycINFO.

For additional recommended journal indexes see this guide's Article Databases tab.

Also consider using the sources listed under the Books tab.

      

    Recommended Tutorials

     

    Tips for Your Literature Review

    1) Pre-plan. Identify what you know and don't know about the topic.

    2) Consider reading an overview article from a specialized social work encyclopedia (see the E-Books page.)

    3) Write-out synonyms and related terms for your keywords. Consult the database's alphabetical subject terms list or thesaurus to learn the terminology used by the database indexers.

    4) Pay particular attention to an article's abstract. The abstract is generally a 75-150 word summary of the article's purpose, methodologies and findings.

    5) Keep a research search log to document which databases you have searched and what search strategies you have used in searching. Most of the database keep a running list of your searches, so prior to exiting the datatabse either print-out or copy and paste these searches into your log.

    6) Use RefWorks to store the various citations you come across.

    7) Use personal folders in RefWorks to categorize citations (useful, dated, rejected, etc.).

    8) Review the references list of articles you read - especially those articles that you consider to be especially relevant.

    9) .

    10) .

        
       

      Your Librarian

      Profile ImageJoe Buenker
       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait