SWG 512SWG 520SWG 534SWG 697SWU 171SWU 474SWU 494
E-BooksRecommended Subject Headings
More DatabasesSpecialized Databases
FMG on Demand (Streaming Video)
Print SourcesWeb Sources
Arizona OrganizationsFind a Healthcare ProfessionalHealth and Human Services OrganizationsNewslettersSocial Work Organizations
MSW ProgramsSocial Work Department Publications
EBSCOhost DatabasesWilson Web
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Social Work - West campus  Tags: social_work immigration refugees  

This guide, intended to assist students and faculty doing research on social work topics, provides an overview of key online and print resources available from Fletcher Library at West campus and the overall ASU Libraries.
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/socialwork-west  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Article Databases             Print Page
  

Background Sources

If you don't know a lot about a topic or need ideas on how to narrow your research, consult the below background sources databases.

  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
      
    Provides a wide-range of materials (journals, magazines, newspapers, statistics, web-sites) on key social issues. Great for pro/con research papers.
  • CQ Library  
      
    A service from Congressional Quarterly Inc. that provides access to two of CQ's premier publications, the CQ Weekly (1983+ ) and the CQ Researcher (1992+ ).
  • Polling the Nations  
    Provides data from national, state, local and special surveys covering subjects from social and political concerns to economic issues.
  • National Journal Group's Policy Central  
      
    A useful resource for politics and policy. Provides congressional information, campaign coverage, status of legislation, and public opinion surveys.
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences  
      
    The online version of a 26-volume print source. Contains nearly 4,000 articles for a total of nearly 17,000 pages.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
    A searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Sage eReference  
    An online collection of over 40 reference titles from Sage Publications. Users may search across all titles, or browse by subject.
 

Core Social Work Research Databases

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)  
      
    Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Indexes more than 8,200 journals (7,1000 are peer-reviewed) and supplies direct full-text articles from 4,500 of the journals (including 3,700 peer-reviewed).
  • Social Services Abstracts  
      
    Indexes research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes 1,500 journals as well as some dissertations and book reviews (1980+ ).
  • PsycINFO  
      
    A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Indexes more than 2,150 journals (98% peer-reviewed) as well as relevant books and dissertations (1887+ ).
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Indexes more than 1,800 journals as well as relevant books and dissertations (1963+ ).
  • Social Sciences Full Text  
      
    Indexes more than 600 journals (1983+ ).
 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageJoe Buenker
Contact Info:
Fletcher Library
Office 301 K
(602) 543-8554
Send Email

Subjects:
Integrative Studies; Psychology; Social Work

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait