Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Jewish Studies

A Subject Guide to research in all fields related to Jewish Studies, on campus and beyond

Dictionaries and Lexicons

General

Jewish English Lexicon (JEL): A collaborative database of distinctive words that are used in the speech or writing of English-speaking Jews. A project of Sarah Bunin Benor, part of the Jewish Language Research website.

Lexicool: directory of bilingual and multilingual online dictionaries : The directory currently has links to over 6000 dictionaries and glossaries.

Hebrew

Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics. Khan, Geoffrey, and Shmuel Bolozky. 2013. 4 Vols. Leiden [etc.]: Brill.

Multi dictionary: bilingual learners dictionay, Hebrew-Hebrew-English, English-Hebrew. Ṿainbakh, Liʼorah, ʻEdnah Laʼuden, and Miriam Shani. 2006. Tel Aviv: Ad.

MorFix : Modern Hebrew-English dictionary and morphological-syntactic Hebrew search engine.

nIkUdA: An online tool for vocalizing Hebrew words.

Gesenius' Hebrew grammar: Print copies @ ASU Library; Digitized versions on Internent Archive (download in different formats: PDF, Kindle, full-text); digitized in wikisource project

Abbreviations Dictionary (Modern Hebrew)

Hebrew Computing on Windows

Hebrew Transliteration Tool : Transcribe a word or a text written in one script (e.g. Hebrew) into another script (e.g. English).

"Spoken Hebrew Machine": 

Subject Headings for Catalog Search: Hebrew Language Dictionaries * Hebrew Language Dictionaries English * Hebrew English Language Idioms Dictionaries

Ladino / Spanish

Jewish Latin American Lexicon: Created by scholars affilated with the Jewish Language Research Website.

 Ladino Type: A transliteration engine for the Ladino (Judezmo) language, created by Brian Berman

Yiddish

Comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary (Gitl Schaechter-Viswanath, Paul E. Glasser, Chava Lapin, and Mordkhe Schaechter), based on the Lexical Research of Mordkhe Schaechter, 2016.

Yiddish-English-Hebrew Dictionary / Harkavy, Alexander, New York: Yivo Institute for Jewish Research; Schocken Books, 1988. Digitized version (National Yiddish Book Center and Internet Archive)

Yiddish Dictionary Online by Shalom Berger

Aramaic

Michael Sokoloff's A Dictionary of Jewish Palestinian Aramaic

Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon Project: A database of Aramaic texts in all dialects. Includes electronic tools for analyzing and manipulating the data. Hebrew Union College.

The Aramaic Language of the Zohar: "A project of udy Barrett and Justin Jaron Lewis, who are working on a beginner’s textbook and a practical dictionary of the Aramaic of the Zohar."

Research Tools, Digitized Books

General

The Language and Culture Archive of Ashkenazic Jewry: Recorded interviews with Yiddish speaker (collected in 1959–1972) and accompanying linguistic field notes. Columbia Univeristy Libraries.

Berman Jewish Policy Archive Redear's Guide: Jewish Languaes: A selection of BJPA holdings on the topics of Hebrew, Yiddish, and the larger questions of Jewish language and Jewish life (Downloadable PDF file).

Jewish Languages Research Website

American-Jewish

Survey of American Jewish Language and Identity: A large-scale survey of Jews and non-Jews in the United States done by Linguist Sarah Bunin Benor and Sociologist Steven M. Cohen.

Haquetía

Haquetía: Judeo-Spanish vernacular of Northern Morocco

Hebrew

Ma'agarim, the Historical Dictionary Project: A free database, product of fifty yerars of work on behlaf of the Avademy of the Hebrew Language in Israel. Users need to sign up, but the service is free.  

The Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database:

Historic Hebrew Newspapers

Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature

Project Ben-Yehuda: Modern Hebrew literature in the public domain.

Ladino

Ladino Digital Library: Stanford University.

Ladino Virtual Library: El Instituto Maale Adumim para la documentación de la lengua judeo-española (ladino) y su cultura.

Yiddish

Yiddish Forward: All-Yiddish blogsphera.

Yiddish Sources: Complied and mentained by Dr. Gerben Zaagsma, Department of Hebrew and Jewish Studies, University College London.

Recordings of Hassidic Yiddish: Recorded and uploaded to the TalkBank.org site by Zelda K Newman.

Yiddish Collections at the Intenrational Institute of Social History: The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences

Yiddish Books Online: Full text of 11,000 out-of-print Yiddish titles. The National Yiddish Book Center.

Yiddish Literature: A selection of Yiddish literary texts with short biographies. National Digital Library of Poland. 

Yiddish Prints: 800 Yiddish books from the Frankfurt University Library.

Index to Yiddish Periodicals: A bibliographical database of materials published in the Yiddish press. The project is carried out under the auspices of the Yiddish Department at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in cooperation with the National Library of Israel.

Haynt: One of the two dailies published in Poland (1908-1939).

Digital Yiddish Theatre Project: A research consortium dedicated to the application of digital humanities tools and methods to the study of Yiddish theatre and drama.

Forward Newspaper (Yiddish: Forverts)

Subject Heading for Catalog Search:

Hebrew Language * Songs Hebrew Israel * Songs Hebrew

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.