Formulating a PICO Question
Duke University | Tutorial | PICO | http://www.hsl.unc.edu/services/tutorials/ebm/Question.htm
P = Population integrated into topic of interest, i.e.
I = Intervention
C = Comparison
O = Outcome
Sample PICO Question
In specific language impaired children is shared book reading effective in reducing weaknesses in phonological awareness as compared with no shared book reading.
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
PubMed Search
Enter terms for INTERVENTION as they appear below.
shared [ti] reading [ti]
The effect of shared book reading on the acquisition of expressive vocabulary of a 7 year old who uses AAC. Soto G, Dukhovny E., Semin Speech Lang. 2008 May;29(2):133-45.
Identify the controlled vocabulary assigned to the article by clicking on highlighted article title and scrolling down to Publication Types, MeSH Terms. Below find the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) applied to the above cited article.
MeSH Terms:
- Articulation Disorders/diagnosis
- Articulation Disorders/rehabilitation*
- Child
- Communication Aids for Disabled*
- Communication Methods, Total
- Comprehension
- Cooperative Behavior
- Education, Special*
- Female
- Follow-Up Studies
- Humans
- Language Development Disorders/diagnosis
- Language Development Disorders/rehabilitation*
- Reading*
- Vocabulary*
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
CINAHL Search
Uncheck box "Suggest Subject Term" to perform a keyword search. Recheck the box to identify and search using CINAHL's controlled vocabulary.
Enter Intervention terms to be searched in the title |
shared (change drop down menu to Title) | reading (chance drop down menu to Title)
Language impairment, parent-child shared reading, and phonological awareness: a feasibility study. (includes abstract); Justice LM; Kaderavek J; Bowles R; Grimm K; Topics in Early Childhood Special Education, 2005 Fall; 25 (3): 143-56
Open up to broader search by changing drop down menu to "Select a Field"
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
PsycINFO Search
Enter search terms for INTERVENTION (PICO)
shared | Change drop down menu to TITLE
reading | Change drop down menu to TITLE
Narrow search further by searching the Population w/Topic of Interest in the Title, too. See following example.
impairment | Change drop down menu to TITLE
Note that PsycINFO offers controlled vocabulary (called Descriptors) for Specific Language Impairment | Click on highlighted link at left of citattion and at upper left, select "Search History". Combine search sets that will retrieve the most relevant articles.
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
ERIC Search
Enter search terms for INTERVENTION
shared \ Change drop down menu to TITLE
reading \ Change drop down menu to TITLE
Broaden title search for terms "shared" and "reading" by changing the drop down menu to ANYWHERE
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
Cochrane Search
Enter search terms for INTERVENTION
shared | Change drop down menu to TITLE, ABSTRACTS, KEYWORDS.
reader| Change drop down menut to TITLE, ABSTRACTS, KEYWORDS
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
Web of Science Search
Enter search terms for INTERVENTION (PICO)
shared | Change drop down menu to TITLE
reading | Change drop down menu to TITLE
impairment | Change drop down menu to TITLE
Broaden search by changing the drop down menu to TOPIC, one at a time and in various combinations
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
Academic Search Premier Search
Enter search terms for INTERVENTION (PICO)
shared | Change drop down menu to TITLE
reading | Change drop down menu to TITLE
impairment | Change drop down menu to TITLE
Broaden search by changing the drop down menu to TOPIC, one at a time and in various combinations
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
Google Scholar Search
Search Google Scholar within ASU Libraries site to access full-text journals paid for by libraries.
At left of search box, select Google Preferences, scroll down to bottom, change drop down menu to RefWorks, see following image.
. Click save preferences.
At left of search box, select Advanced Scholar Search
At all of the words search box enter shared reading impairment SLI
At with the exact phrase search box enter shared reading
At return articles published between search box enter 2000 - 2010
Select desired citations and send to RefWorks' folders.
Foundation Resources/Services/Search Strategies
Speech and Hearing Science | Research Methods | 500
Sheila.hofstetter@asu.edu | Health Sciences Librarian, Tempe and Polytechnic campuses
Begin search at http://lib.asu.edu
Search databases within library page to link out to full-text journals paid for by ASU Libraries or you will be linked to publisher sites that charge you for full-text access to desired journals.
Ask a Librarian An evidence based practitioner uses time wisely. Ask for help.
Sign up for Interlibrary Loan | A researcher accesses all of the best evidence from around the world by using the free library service that obtains electronic copies of articles and books from other libraries.
Sign up for RefWorks, create folders, and organize citations for quick access to pertinent references and for creating quick citations. Folder names – BIB, MISC, PICO TOPICS/DATABASES, LEVELS OF EVIDENCE, BACKGROUND
PICO | Population integrated into topic of interest | Intervention | Comparison with another intervention or no intervention | Outcome measurement of effectiveness of intervention(s)
PICO Question
In specific language impaired children is shared book reading effective in reducing weaknesses in phonological awareness as compared with no shared book reading.
Search the following databases in sequence | Use advanced search
PubMed, CINAHL, PsycINFO, (ERIC), Cochrane, Web of Science, Google Scholar, Academic Search Premier
Strategy #1 Snap Shot Search Strategy| Quick look into database retrieving articles with your Population & Intervention in title. Identify and list all synonyms and coined phrases used by authors to identify Intervention.
Strategy #2 Rigorous Systematic Search Strategy | Identify and integrate controlled vocabulary, synonyms, and researchers language into search strategy. Systematically search specific databases in the same sequence.
Refworks | Organize retrieved citations for quick access and record of retrieved best evidence Send retrieved citations into RefWorks’ folders already created to support assignment, paper, research.
Refworks' guide for importing/exporting from ASU databases
PUbMed Search History
Research Methodologies in PubMed
PubMed MESH for research methodologies
Past the term [mh] OR term [pt] into PubMed search box
Prospective Studies [mh] Observation of a population for a sufficient number of persons over a sufficient number of years to generate incidence or mortality rates subsequent to the selection of the study group.
Retrospective Studies [mh]
Studies used to test etiologic hypotheses in which inferences about an exposure to putative causal factors are derived from data relating to characteristics of persons under study or to events or experiences in their past. The essential feature is that some of the persons under study have the disease or outcome of interest and their characteristics are compared with those of unaffected persons.
Cross-Sectional Studies [mh]
Studies in which the presence or absence of disease or other health-related variables are determined in each member of the study population or in a representative sample at one particular time. This contrasts with LONGITUDINAL STUDIES which are followed over a period of time.
Longitudinal Studies [mh]
Studies in which variables relating to an individual or group of individuals are assessed over a period of time.
Qualitative Research [mh]
Research that derives data from observation, interviews, or verbal interactions and focuses on the meanings and interpretations of the participants.
Quantatitative Studies
a Case Reports [mh]
Clinical presentations that may be followed by evaluative studies that eventually lead to a diagnosis.
aa Case Control Studies [mh]
Studies which start with the identification of persons with a disease of interest and a control (comparison, referent) group without the disease. The relationship of an attribute to the disease is examined by comparing diseased and non-diseased persons with regard to the frequency or levels of the attribute in each group.
b Cohort Studies [mh]
Studies in which subsets of a defined population are identified. These groups may or may not be exposed to factors hypothesized to influence the probability of the occurrence of a particular disease or other outcome. Cohorts are defined populations which, as a whole, are followed in an attempt to determine distinguishing subgroup characteristics.
c Clinical Trials [pt]
Work that is the report of a pre-planned clinical study of the safety, efficacy, or optimum dosage schedule of one or more diagnostic, therapeutic, or prophylactic drugs, devices, or techniques in humans selected according to predetermined criteria of eligibility and observed for predefined evidence of favorable and unfavorable effects. While most clinical trials concern humans, this publication type may be used for clinical veterinary articles meeting the requisites for humans. (PubMed LIMIT)
cc Randomized Controlled Trials [pt]
Work consisting of a clinical trial that involves at least one test treatment and one control treatment, concurrent enrollment and follow-up of the test- and control-treated groups, and in which the treatments to be administered are selected by a random process, such as the use of a random-numbers table. (PubMed LIMIT)
ccc Controlled Clinical Trials [pt]
Work consisting of a clinical trial involving one or more test treatments, at least one control treatment, specified outcome measures for evaluating the studied intervention, and a bias-free method for assigning patients to the test treatment. The treatment may be drugs, devices, or procedures studied for diagnostic, therapeutic, or prophylactic effectiveness. Control measures include placebos, active medicine, no-treatment, dosage forms and regimens, historical comparisons, etc. When randomization using mathematical techniques, such as the use of a random numbers table, is employed to assign patients to test or control treatments, the trial is characterized as a RANDOMIZED CONTROLLED TRIAL (PubMed LIMIT)
d Epidemiologic Studies [mh]
Studies designed to examine associations, commonly, hypothesized causal relations. They are usually concerned with identifying or measuring the effects of risk factors or exposures. The common types of analytic study are CASE-CONTROL STUDIES; COHORT STUDIES; and CROSS-SECTIONAL STUDIES.
e Meta-analysis [pt]
Works consisting of studies using a quantitative method of combining the results of independent studies (usually drawn from the published literature) and synthesizing summaries and conclusions which may be used to evaluate therapeutic effectiveness, plan new studies, etc. It is often an overview of clinical trials. It is usually called a meta-analysis by the author or sponsoring body and should be differentiated from reviews of literature. (PubMed LIMIT)
Additional PubMed MESH for studies
Multicenter Study [pt]
Controlled studies which are planned and carried out by several cooperating institutions to assess certain variables and outcomes in specific patient populations, for example, a multicenter study of congenital anomalies in children. (PedMed LIMIT)
Evaluation Study [pt]
Studies determining the effectiveness or value of processes, personnel, and equipment, or the material on conducting such studies. For drugs and devices, CLINICAL TRIALS; DRUG EVALUATION; and DRUG EVALUATION, PRECLINICAL are available. (PubMed LIMIT)
Validation Study [pt]
Works consisting of research using processes by which the reliability and relevance of a procedure for a specific purpose are established. (PubMed LIMIT)
Seconary Resources
Meta-analysis [pt]
Works consisting of studies using a quantitative method of combining the results of independent studies (usually drawn from the published literature) and synthesizing summaries and conclusions which may be used to evaluate therapeutic effectiveness, plan new studies, etc. It is often an overview of clinical trials. It is usually called a meta-analysis by the author or sponsoring body and should be differentiated from reviews of literature. (PubMed LIMIT)
Systematic Reviews (enter search as follows) systematic [sb]
A systematic review attempts to collate all empirical evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria in order to answer a specific research question. It uses explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view to minimizing bias, thus providing more reliable findings from which conclusions can be drawn and decisions made (Antman 1992, Oxman 1993). The key characteristics of a systematic review are: a clearly stated set of objectives with pre-defined eligibility criteria for studies; an explicit, reproducible methodology; a systematic search that attempts to identify all studies that would meet the eligibility criteria; an assessment of the validity of the findings of the included studies, for example through the assessment of risk of bias; and a systematic presentation, and synthesis, of the characteristics and findings of the included studies. Many systematic reviews contain meta-analyses. Meta-analysis is the use of statistical methods to summarize the results of independent studies (Glass 1976). By combining information from all relevant studies, meta-analyses can provide more precise estimates of the effects of health care than those derived from the individual studies included within a review (see Chapter 9, Section 9.1.3). They also facilitate investigations of the consistency of evidence across studies, and the exploration of differences across studies.Cochrane Handbook | 1.2.2 What is a systematic review?
PubMed http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_subsets/sysreviews_strategy.html
Review [pt]
An article or book published after examination of published material on a subject. It may be comprehensive to various degrees and the time range of material scrutinized may be broad or narrow, but the reviews most often desired are reviews of the current literature. The textual material examined may be equally broad and can encompass, in medicine specifically, clinical material as well as experimental research or case reports. State-of-the-art reviews tend to address more current matters. A review of the literature must be differentiated from HISTORICAL ARTICLE on the same subject, but a review of historical literature is also within the scope of this publication type.
Meet your librarian. |
Contact Info 480-965-6588 Noble Science and Engineering Library Science and Engineering Services Reference Office next to elevators Room 130H Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Health and Health Sciences |


Loading...
