IEE 437/547: Human Factors Engineering (Fall 09)IEE100: Intro to Engineering Design (Spring 08)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Industrial Engineering  Tags: industrial operations operation_engineering engineering systems  

Library and Internet Resources for industrial engineering topics.
Last update: Sep 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/ie  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started            Print Page
  
 

Getting Started

This guide lists both library and internet resources recommended for construction topics and in many cases, includes instructions for using these resources.   In the Quick Links column on the left, the list contains ASU services first, then the major library and internet resources listed alphabetically.  Use the TABs at the top of the page to locate different types of resources or information. 

In general, types of information may be found as follows:

To Find: Use:
Short definitions of words or phrases Dictionaries
Short summary of a topic
(usually couple of paragraphs to a couple of pages)
General Encyclopedias
Handbooks
Longer summary of a topic
(usually 20-30 pages)
Subject Encylcopedias
Detailed look at a broad subject Books
Detailed look at a narrow subject Journal Articles
Facts and formulas Handbooks
"How Many... " Statistical Resources
Information About People Biographies

  

To find all of the best material for your topic, it's necessary to have a systematic process for library research.  A search that goes from looking at the broad aspects of the topic and proceeds to the more specific aspects is usually best.  

  1. It takes time to research information whether using the Internet or Library resources; good research technique requires the use of more than one resource/database and in many cases, each database may need to be used more than once.  Although many library resources are now available online, much of the older material is only available in print and will require a trip to the library to view.   

  2. Start with gathering background information from the summaries in encyclopedias, handbooks and from authoritative websites.  By doing a little background research first, you'll familiarize yourself with the current issues and terminologies of your topic - this will help as you continue your research into more specific aspects.  The more you know about your topic, the better research you'll be able to do.

  3. Now that you are familiar with the basic concepts of your topic,  the next step will be to look for books and then find journal articles.  Use the TABs at the top of this Guide to help with where and how to find books and journal articles.

  4. As you do your research, you'll go through a "discovery phase" gathering information about your topic and learning more about it.  In the discovery phase, you'll need to:

    • Refine your topic by focusing in on a specific aspect/issue; your topic must have enough written about it but not be so broad that you cannot discuss your topic in depth within your paper's page limit.  If there is enough information to write a book about the topic, then it's too broad for a 10-page research paper; if no books and few journal articles have been written about it, then that topic is probably more appropriate for original research (i.e., doctoral dissertation or masters thesis). 
       
    • Select an aspect/issue of your topic that you find interesting - it will make the research seem easier.

    • Select an aspect/issue of your topic on which you can draw your own conclusion from the evidence; this is your opportunity to demonstrate your critical thinking skills - don't just rehash the information you've found.

    • Look for the "correct" terminology for your topic.  There are many different ways to describe the same item,  process or situation, especially in industrial engineering where the same process or analysis can be applied to many different systems or services.   What you may be calling the "Traveling Salesman Problem",  an author may describe as "telecommunication packet routing" or "combinatorial optimization".    Whenever you find new or different terminology for your topic, go back to whatever resources you used previously and search them again with the new terms; when you use new resources be sure to search both the old and new terms. 

Tutorials on basic and advanced library skills are available on the Libraries home page under "Get Help" -> Tutorials.  

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageSheila Young
Contact Info:
Noble Science & Engineering Library
Rm 130 F
480-965-5963
Send Email

Subjects:
Bioengineering, Biomedical Informatics, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering

 

Need Help?

The ASU Libraries provide assistance in many ways:

  • In-person at the Information/Reference desks in each of the libraries
  • By phone at the Information/Reference desk in each of the libraries
  • By e-mail (we'll respond within 2-24 hours)
  • By online chat (available M-F 9am-5pm)

For more information about our Ask a Librarian service see: http://lib.asu.edu/help/

The ASU Libraries also have subject librarians who specialize in the literature and information in specific areas. The subject librarians act as liaisons to academic departments, provide library instruction for ASU classes, recommend and assist with library resources for research, and purchase material needed for classes and research.

The Industrial Engineering Librarian is Linda Shackle and her contact information is listed above.  Other librarians in related subject areas are listed below.

 

Other Librarians

Allison Leaming
West Campus Library
602-543-8541
allison.leaming@asu.edu
(business, management)

Lydia LaFaro
Hayden Library, Tempe Campus
480-965-4902
lydia.lafaro@asu.edu
(business, management)

Jenny Mueller-Alexander
Hayden Library, Tempe Campus
480-965-3084
mue@asu.edu
(business)

Ellen Welty
Polytechnic Campus Library
480-727-1157
ellen.welty@asu.edu
(technology)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait