Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

ENG 102/105/108, First-Year Composition

A step-by-step guide to finding sources for ENG102, 105 or 108 research papers.

Library One Search

Library One Search  

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Article Databases

The library databases below are the best for your English papers:

Academic Search Ultimate is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals and has loads of full text. Depending on the topic, many ENG 102 students will get all they need from Academic Search Ultimate.

Academic Search Ultimate (formerly Academic Search Premier) - Introduction: Interactive Tutorial and Quiz

The most helpful feature of Opposing Viewpoints is that it provides clearly identified pro and con sources for each topic. You can either browse the most popular topics from the first screen, or you can search by keyword. This is a great place to start, but you also need to look at other tools All of the essays are available full text.

Opposing Viewpoints also provides other useful information about each issue, such as relevant articles from encyclopedias, magazines and scholarly journals. Use the tabs at the top of your search results to find these.

CQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information on current issues in the news including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties. It is a reliable place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers. But don't let it be your only source!

Nexis Uni offers full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. It includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, biographies, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, and news transcripts.

Access World News offers newspaper coverage from around the U.S. and around the world, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues

Get articles from our local newspaper the Arizona Republic from to 1999 to present. Local information can often be harder to find than national information, so go to Ask a Librarian for help if you want local information but cannot find it.

 

Alt-Press Watch is a full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. It provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.

Ethnic NewsWatch brings full text coverage of ethnic and minority presses from around the United States. It provides viewpoints and resources you may not find anywhere else!

Google Scholar

Index to scholarly literature, books and journals, from all subject fields. ASU Library's link to GS supplies links to the Library's online collections.

Helpful Handouts

Finding Opinion Pieces in Newspaper Databases

General Newspaper Databases (search multiple newspapers with these databases
Specific Newspaper Searches
Subjects: Literature
Tags: writing

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.