AIS 180 Introduction to American Indian StudiesAIS 280 American Indian Soveriegnty and the CourtsAIS 380 Contemporary Issues of American Indian NationsAIS 420 American Indian Studies Research MethodsAIS 494 American Indian RightsAIS 494 American Indians in Cinema, Arts and MediaARS 498 Material Culture Analysis and InterpretationARS 498 Shaping Native American Art in the SouthwestENG 359 American Indian LiteratureENG 457 Indigenous PoetryENG 461 Native American Women's LiteratureENG 465 Studies in Film/The American Indian in Film and Video: Reel or Real?EPA 691 Indigenous Knowledges in EducationLAW 691 Indian Legal ResearchEarly Childhood EducationARS 498 Native American Women ArtistsHow to Avoid Googling the Same-Old Mojave Pictures: Efficiently Searching for and Successfully Finding Mojave Archival MaterialsAIS 494 Cultural ProfessionalismARS 498/598 Native American AdornmentHST 498 Western WomenAEC 95 Native American CultureJUS 301 Research in Justice StudiesARS 498/598 Museums and Material Culture
American Indian ArchitectureAmerican Indian Child Welfare ActAmerican Indian Economic DevelopmentAmerican Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission SchoolsAmerican Indian GenealogyAmerican Indian LanguagesAmerican Indian SovereigntyAmerican Indian StereotypesAmerican Indian TheatreAmerican Indian WomenAutobiography and Primary SourcesBibliography on RepatriationEnvironmental IssuesFive Southeastern TribesHistorical and Contemporary American Indian GamingReligion and Origin StoriesVeterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix, 1941-1984Oral History - Listening to IndiansOral History Subject GuideOral History Tapes of Ralph CameronPonca Oral History CollectionThe American Indian Oral History Collection
American Indian Manuscript CollectionsCarlos Montezuma Guide to CollectionsCherokee Phoenix and Indian's AdvocateMicroform Publications
This is the "Environmental Issues" page of the "American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Indian Studies   Tags: american_indians  

This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=3897 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Environmental Issues Print Page
  Search: 
 

Article Databases

The following indexes and databases are accessed from the Arizona State University Libraries home page by clicking on “Articles” and entering the title of the database in the space provided.

  • American Indian History and Culture
    American Indian History and Culture is useful for searches on keywords: environment; mining; oil; fishing rights; water rights; etc.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1990 to present including:Indian Country Today, Navajo Times, and News from Indian Countr

Websites

In addition to the most important links listed below, there are a number of ever changing sites set up by environmental groups focusing on native peoples, land and communities.

 

Reference Books

The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with American Indian Environmental Issues. These resources include material found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the ASU Libraries at Arizona State University, and websites. 

American Indian Environments: Ecological Issues in Native American History - Christopher Vecsey and Robert W. Venables
Call Number: E98 .L3 A46
A collection of contrasting views of Indian and white attitudes on nature, subsistence techniques, white removal of Indians from their homelands, and the effects of white ecological practices on the Indian population and the American landscape.

American Indian Water Rights and the Limits of Law - Lloyd Burton
Call Number: KF 8210 .N37 B87 1991
Focuses on the history of American Indian water rights and disputes after 1908.

And Still the Waters Run: The Betrayal of the Five Civilized Tribes - Angie Debo
Call Number: E78 .I5 D4 1973
The Choctaws, Chickasaws, Cherokees, Creeks, and Seminoles owned half of Oklahoma, and with discovery of oil and other natural resources, the tribes were forced to move.

Breaking the Iron Bonds: Indian Control of Energy Development - Marjane Ambler
Call Number: E98 .L3 A43 1990
The author focuses on fifteen western Indian reservations having the majority of coal, uranium, oil and gas deposits. The book briefly introduces a reader to the history of federal Indian policies, economic development, reservation energy development, and tribal control over its natural resources.

Command of the Waters: Iron Triangles, Federal Water Development, and Indian Water - Daniel McCool
Call Number: HD 1694 .A5 M4 1994
The author examines Indian water rights and the conflicting relationships with the federal government and Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Ecocide of Native America: Environmental Destruction of Indian Lands and Peoples - Donald A. Grinde and Bruce E. Johansen
Call Number: E98 .L3 G74 1995
This book covers expropriation of land, destruction by strip mining, the effects of uranium mining, water contamination, and air and groundwater pollution.

Empty Nets: Indians, Dams, and the Columbia River - Roberta Ulrich
Call Number: KF 8210 .N37 U45 1999
Describes the detrimental effects the Bonneville Dam in Oregon has created on the salmon and the traditional fishing sites of the Columbia River Indians.

Mining, the Environment, and Indigenous Development Conflicts - Saleem H. Ali
Call Number: E98 .L3 A35 2003
The book examines the environmental conflicts between mining companies and indigenous communities.

If You Poison Us: Uranium and Native Americans - Peter H. Eichstaedt
Call Number: E99 .N3 E29 1994
Author reviews the detrimental impacts of uranium mining inflicted on the Navajo people and their lands.

Indian Country, God’s Country: Native Americans and the National Parks - Philip Burnham
Call Number: E98 .L3 B87 2000
Burnham reviews the complicated relationship between Native Americans and the national parks including the removal and/or relocation of Indian tribes.

Inuit, Whaling, and Sustainability - Milton M.R. Freeman
Call Number: E99 .E7 I564 1998
An extensive overview on issues confronting the Inuit people, traditional whale hunting, and the effects of commercial whaling.

Mother Earth, Father Sky, and Economic Development: Navajo Resources and Their Use - Philip Reno
Call Number: E99 .N3 R458
The book focuses on Navajo natural resources including: economic development; livestock; water issues;
irrigation; timber; coal; oil and uranium.

Native Americans and Energy Development - Harris Arthur
Call Number: E98 .E2 N37
Various authors contribute to the energy development on the Hopi Reservation, the Navajo Nation (including Black Mesa coal mine) and tribal control on natural resources.

Native Waters: Contemporary Indian Water Settlements and the Second Treaty Era - Daniel McCool
Call Number: KF 8210 .N37 M38 2002
Provides an overview of current Indian water settlements with non-Indians since the 1980s.

Navajo Land, Navajo Culture: The Utah Experience in the Twentieth Century, - Robert S. McPherson
Call Number: E99 .N3 M5158 2001
A few chapters focus on stock reduction, the uranium industry, and petroleum mines on the Navajo reservation.

To Fish in Common: The Ethnohistory of Lummi Indian Salmon Fishing - Daniel L. Boxberger
Call Number: E99 .L95 B68 1999
A case study of theLummi Indians and the impacts of technological advances, their relationships with the state and federal governments, commercial fishing, and it’s affects on their access to salmon.

Uncommon Controversy: Fishing Rights of the Muckleshoot, Puyallup, and Nisqually Indians - American Friends Service Committee
Call Number: E78 .W3 U25 1970
Focuses on attitudes and conflicts of three tribes and state agencies on the fishing rights on rivers near the Southern end of Puget Sound.

 

Books

The following reference books can be found in the Labriola Center near the reference desk.

The Native North American Almanac - Duane Champagne
Call Number: E76.2 .N43x
See Environment and Economic Development.

Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia - Mary B. Davis
Call Number: E76.2 .N36 1994 Ref
See Environmental Issues, Fishing and Hunting Rights, Mining, Natural Resource Management, Water Rights, Whaling, etc.

Handbook of North American Indians, vol. 4 - Wilcomb E. Washburn
Call Number: E77 .H25 Ref
See Ecological Change and Indian-White Relations.

 

DVDs

NIHIZAZI K’EEDA’DIDLEEH NT’EE’: Our Elders All Knew How to Farm - U.S. Department of Interior, Bureau of Reclamation
Call Number: E99 .N3 N55 2005 DVD
Documentary on the history of the irrigation project in Ganado, Arizona and the reestablishment of the project in 2001.

The Snowbowl Effect - Indigenous Action Media
Call Number: E98 .R3 S66 2005 DVD
Explores the debate of Native American tribal officials, spiritual leaders, Forest Service officials and concerned citizens over the proposed expansion of the Snowbowl ski resort and snowmaking using reclaimed water. Snowbowl ski resort is located on the San Francisco Peaks located near Flagstaff, Arizona.

 

Video and Audio

My Strength is From the Fish - Wild Hare Media
Call Number: E98 .F4 M9x 1994 VIDEO
Video examines the importance of salmon to the Indians of the Columbia River. Part I of III.

Empty Promises, Empty Nets - Wild Hare Media
Call Number: E98 .F4 E47x 1994 VIDEO
An overview of the guarantee of treaty Indian fishing rights of the Columbia River tribes. Part II of III.

Matter of Trust - Wild Hare Media
Call Number: E98 .F4 M38x 1995 VIDEO
The environmental impacts on salmon runs including: irrigation, fertilizers, chemicals, illegal water spreading, logging, road building and cattle grazing.

Black Mesa: A Tragedy - Center for Cassette Studies
Call Number: E99 .H7 B55 1973 cassette
Audio overview of the Black Mesa coal mine and the Hopi Indians.

Educational Studies and Uranium
Call Number: LAB AUDIO AT-117
An Indian law student’s lecture on uranium mining on Indian lands.

 

Other Misc.

Manuscript Collections


The following manuscript collections can be found in the Labriola Center. A finding guide is available at the Labriola reference desk. Also at the Arizona Archives online http://aao.lib.asu.edu/index.html


Peterson Zah Collection, 1969-1994. Contains professional papers and correspondence, newspapers articles, photographs, audiovisual materials, and artifacts that range from 1969-1994. Other topics covered include: grazing issues; water rights; toxic waste; uranium workers; environmental issues and Navajo irrigation project.


Peter Iverson Collection, 1898-2002. Contains research materials, which were collected to support Dr. Iverson’s various publications. Other environmental topics consist of: water rights; effects of Uranium on the Navajos; stock reduction and mining leases.

 

 

Oral Histories

American Indian Oral History Collection, El Paso, TX: Southwest Micropublishing, 1990. Contains transcripts of oral histories and interviews of Navajo and Pueblo Indians held at the University of New Mexico in conjunction with the Center for Southwest Research. Primary sources on the effects of livestock reduction, water rights and land issues. A finding guide is available.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Joyce Martin
Contact Info
480-965-0298
Hayden Library 2nd floor
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip