Article Databases
There are many databases on the online catalog that can aid a student in finding journal articles online and in the library periodicals section downstairs. There are a couple of ways to get into article databases from the ASU Libraries Homepage. One way is to click on “Research Databases”, then "select by database subject area" to “American Indian Studies” and click “GO”. You will see that 16 different databases are there for you to browse, and within them you will be able to find the full text of many items of interest.
A description of what each database offers helps the researcher to choose whether they want journal articles, newspaper articles, magazines, newsletters, etc. Finding the right articles just takes using the right words to be successful in a search. Several tries using different keywords will give a better selection of material to choose from. For example, in searching for sovereignty, some keywords to use are: sovereignty, American Indian sovereignty, tribal sovereignty, self-determination, American Indians and sovereignty, etc. Use each term for a subject search, title search, or keyword search.
Ephemera
Included are small manuscripts, informational brochures, museum publications, photographs (including slides), radio transcripts, articles, and poetry. To find ephemera related to sovereignty, search the American Indian Index and the Arizona and Southwestern Index, which are accessed from the University Libraries home page under “Indexes” or click on the link from the Labriola website: http://www.asu.edu/lib/archives/labriola.htm. Examples of subjects are: sovereignty, self-determination, and tribal sovereignty.
Here are a couple of papers in the ephemera collection that discuss sovereignty from different perspectives:
- Northern Lights, Vol. 3 #3, May/June 1987, pp. 7-9. This issue of Northern
Lights feature tribal sovereignty as its theme.
Labriola LAB EPH P-171 - Land Rights News. Land Rights News is published for the Aboriginal people of
Australia, who are seeking treaties to protect native title and sovereign rights.
Labriola DU 666 .L36 Folio
Search the ASU Catalog
|
|
Search the ASU Libraries catalog for books, music, videos and journal titles:
Reference Books
The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with American Indian Sovereignty. These resources include material found in the Labriola American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries at Arizona State University, websites, and other research facilities.
Books
Indigenous Rights, Economic Development, Law and Justice, Repatriation, and Activism.
Theses and Dissertations
A thesis presented in partial fulfillment of the requirements of the Honors College for the bachelor's degree, Arizona State University, 2002
Video Recordings
VIDEORECORDINGS
“A Question of Sovereignty [videorecording]”: with Kirke Kickingbird / The Institute for the Development of Indian Law; produced and directed by Joel L. Freedman; written by Joan Kuehl; a Cinnamon production. Washington, D.C.: Institute for the Development of Indian Law, 1977.
Labriola KF 8205 .Q84 1977 VIDEO
This 10-minute video is a great start for those just starting to research American Indian Sovereignty, by giving a basic definition of what “sovereign power” is.
Chinook Trilogy [videorecording], Columbia River Inter-tribal Fish commission (CRITFC), Portland, Oregon, 1994.
Each video is 30 minutes long. The Chinook Trilogy was created by CRITFC, composed of the Warm Springs, Yakama, Umatilla, and Nez Perce tribes, in an effort to inform and educate the public about fishing rights and its implications toward tribal sovereignty, treaty rights, ecological conditions of the Columbia River and salmon population.
Included with each tape is a supplement titled “Che Wana Tymoo (Stories of the Big River).” This little handout includes a map of the tribes of the Columbia River, a short time-line history of treaty fishing, the importance of saving the fish, and questions & answers on treaty rights.
- Part 1: “My Strength is From the Fish.” This first tape serves as an introduction to fishing rights along the Columbia River. The importance of salmon fishing is explained from perspectives of community members, tribal leaders, fishers and others. The current state of fishing is introduced.
Labriola E98 .F4 M9x 1994 VIDEO - Part 2: “Empty Promises, Empty Nets.” The second tape discusses fishing as treaty and sovereign rights of tribes. The Treaty of 1855 and the case of United States v. Washington, otherwise known as The Boldt Decision, are discussed. This tape features the legal aspects fishing rights bound by treaties and courts decisions. The upholding of fishing rights is a theme throughout the tape.
Labriola E98 .F4 E47x 1994 VIDEO - Part 3: “Matter of Trust.” The third and last tape of the Chinook Trilogy focuses primarily on the ecological effects that have impacted the salmon population throughout history. Fresh water ecosystems and other solutions to increase salmon population are detailed in this last video.
Labriola E98 .F4 M38x 1995 VIDEO
Your Librarian |
Subjects: American Indian issues |



Loading...
