Helpful Websites
AMERICAN INDIAN INDEX
Includes the Labriola National American Indian Data Center's collection of tribal newspapers, newsletters, reports, photographs, ephemera, and more. Covering time periods from prehistory to the present, the American Indian Index http://library.lib.asu.edu/record=e1000031 contains close to 8,000 items covering both the United States and Canada.
Using such key words as "Indian" and "gaming", a researcher could find the following:
- "Pima Indian Stick Game", which includes game pieces and rules
- Brochures from Indian casinos
- Newspaper articles on Indian Gaming
- Essays on gaming and sovereignty
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATION INDEXES
Those interested in information regarding gaming standards and regulations be sure to check out Government Documents on the third floor of Hayden Library (or the government documents section of a local library.) The Arizona Government Documents division contains copies of gaming compacts for Arizona Indian tribes.
Government publications on Indian gaming include House and Senate Indian gaming hearings, Public Laws that originate from the hearings, and state gaming compacts. Listed below are indexes that may help in researching governmental law and policy.
Congressional Universe. (1789+)
This index contains the Congressional Information Service indexing and abstracting of congressional publications (1970-present); Congressional Indexes (1789-1969); full text of congressional reports, documents, bills, and the Congressional Record; testimony (1988-present); public laws; and the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations.
Government Printing Office Index. (1976+)
This is an electronic version of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. You may search this index by title, author, keyword, subject, and report number.
INTERNET SITES
- The National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA) website contains information on membership, events, resources and statistics on Indian gaming. http://www.indiangaming.org
- The Arizona Department of Gaming regulates Indian gaming in Arizona. The website includes their annual report, links to Arizona casinos, compacts, and history of Indian gaming in Arizona. http://www.gm.state.az.us/
Other links with information in Indian Gaming include:
- American Indian Gambling and Casino Information Center: http://www2.dgsys.com/~niga/
- Index of Native American Gaming Resources on the Internet: http://www.hanksville.org/Naresources/indices/Nagaming.html
- Tribal Court Clearinghouse Indian Gaming Resources: http://www.tribal-institute.org/lists/gaming.htm
- Lobbyists for Native American and American Indian Issues: http://www.legix.com
Caution: Before using the information from any web pages in your paper, be certain that your source is legitimate and accurate.
The above bibliography is based on a 1996 Nick Davis project written to fulfill requirements for the American Indian Justice Studies Certificate Program at Arizona State University.
Article Databases
Gaming topics are covered in a wide variety of journals and newspapers. The following electronic databases and indexes can assist in locating such information about Indian gaming. Use key words such as Native American gambling, American Indian casinos, or Indian gaming.
Arizona Newsstand. (1986+) Provides full-text coverage of Arizona newspapers such as the Arizona Business, Arizona Business Gazette, Arizona Daily Star, Arizona Daily Sun, Arizona Republic (to August 2001), Phoenix Business Journal, Phoenix Gazette, and the Tucson Citizen. A researcher may find general and specific information dealing with gambling on Arizona Indian reservations.
Bibliography of Native North Americans. (1500+) This bibliography contains citations to literature about Native peoples of North America published from the 16th century to the present. It also contains over 60,000 citations to journal articles, essays, monographs, dissertations and U.S. Government documents.
Business Newsbank. (1993+) Contains selected articles from almost 500 U.S. and Canadian daily newspapers and business newsweeklies.
EBSCO. (1990+) EBSCOs Academic Search Elite engine searches for articles from over 1500 magazines and scholarly journals; most are online. EBSCOs Online Citations searches only online academic journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch. (1960+) Ethnic News Watch is a database that includes more than 100 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters - with complete full text articles. There are numerous articles on gaming issues. Examples of Native American Newspapers are: Navajo Nation Today, Navajo Times, Cherokee Advocate, Indian Country Today, Seminole Tribune, Char-Koosta News, (The) Circle, Au-Authm Action News, Ft. Apache Scout, Native Nevadan, News From Indian Country, Sho-Ban News, Tundra Times, and Wind River News.
JSTOR. Includes back issues and online articles from scholarly journals in many subject areas including gaming. Articles are online and can be printed or downloaded to your computer.
Books
The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with the rapidly growing issue of Indian gaming. These resources include material found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries at Arizona State University, websites, and other research facilities. This subject guide is also located on the Labriola Center website at http://www.asu.edu/lib/archives/labriola.htm
- "Bingo, Blackjack, and One-armed Bandits in the Northwoods: a Sociology of American Indian Gaming in the United States" - Annette Kuhlmann
Call Number: FICHE 4x6 16539
Annette Kuhlmann. Ph.D. dissertation.
Kuhlmann looks at gaming among the Winnebago Indians in Wisconsin. - "Federal Indian Policy, Secretary of the Interior Bruce Babbitt, and Indian Gaming in Arizona" - Juliana Yoder
Call Number: LD179.15 1995 .Y644
Juliana Yoder Master's thesis
Yoder's thesis on Bruce Babbitt and Indian gaming in Arizona focuses on the history of Federal Indian policy and the role of the Secretary of the Interior. It includes one chapter on gaming in Arizona. - Gambler Way: Indian Gaming in Mythology, History, and Archaeology in North America - Kathryn Gabriel
Call Number: E98 .G2 G33 1996
Gabriel gives the reader views of traditional Indian gambling in myth, history, and contemporary times. She also includes a summary of Indian gaming politics and the current issues at hand. There is a bibliography and a number of notes for further reference. - Gambling - Charles P. Cozic
Call Number: HV6710 .G314 1995
Various articles present perspectives from all sides of the gaming issue. They range from a U.S. News and Word Report investigation to a letter from Rick Hill in response to a 60 Minutes piece on Pequot gaming. This volume also contains a bibliography of the articles in the book in addition to listing locations of various gambling organizations. - Gambling on Indian Reservations and Lands - United States Congress, Senate Select Committee
Call Number: KF8210 .G3 A2x 1985
This Government document establishes federal standards and regulations for the conduct of gaming activities within Indian Country. - Gambling Music of the Coast Salish Indians - Wendy Bross Stuart
Call Number: ML3557 .S85
This study focuses on slahal, a gambling game found among the Coast Salish peoples in British Columbia and Washington State. Gambling songs are an integral part of the tradition and have been maintained and preserved by oral means. - Games of the American Indian - Gordon C. Baldwin
Call Number: E98 .G2 B3 1969b
Baldwin provides a geographical account of games played by different tribes, and gives a short synopsis on how to play the games, as well as what makes them significant to the tribe. - Gambling and Survival in Native North America - Paul Pasquaretta
Call Number: E98 .G18 P37 2003
Viewing the survival of Native communities in the face of genocide and forced assimilation as a high stakes game of chance, the author examines gambling metaphors in historical contexts to reveal strategies employed by several tribes as they participate in various "games" with white society - whether land re-acquisition, political positioning or resistence to outside dominance. - Games of the North American Indians - Stewart Culin
Call Number: E98 .G2 C9 1975
This book provides an in-depth look on Native American games and includes historic material on both games of chance and games of skill. Culin describes each game and how to play it. He provides photographs, drawings, and an extensive index. - Gaming Industry on American Indian Lands - Heidi L. McNeil
Call Number: KF8210 .C7 G3x 1994
The subject matter deals with the history, controversy, and legal aspects of American Indian gaming. A course handbook used by the Practicing Law Institute, attorneys also use it as a reference manual. - Grass Games and Moon Races: California Indian Games and Toys - Jeannine Gendar
Call Number: E78 .C15 G32x 1995
This book employs photographs, illustrations, personal accounts, stories and myths to explore California Indian games and toys from ancient times, when the games of the divinities shaped the world, to the modern era. - Handbook of American Indian Games - Allan and Paulette MacFarlan
Call Number: E98 .G2 M25 1985
The authors describe traditional Native American games, including directions on how to play them. The book also includes a history of games of chance and a list of illustrations, separated by cultural area, chance, and skill level.
(Located in Hyden Arizona & West Stacks) - Indian Gaming and the Law - William Eadington
Call Number: KF8210 .C7 I53 1998
This volume contains a collection of writings by various professionals who participated in The North American Conference on the Status of Indian Gaming offering different perspectives regarding gaming issues on reservation land. Eadington also provides an appendix, which includes the Cabazon case and the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act. - Indian Gaming: The National Magazine of the American Indian Gaming Industry - Melanie Dellas
Call Number: E98 .G18 I53x
Indian Gaming is a periodical that contains feature articles regarding Native American casinos and the gaming industry. The articles range from feature stories about internet marketing and reinvesting revenues to regular pages on state by state news and bingo. - Gambling: Riconda's Collection - Andrew Riconda
Call Number: AC1 .R44 v.67:4 1995
(Reference Shelf - Lcated in Hayden Stacks & West Stacks)
Riconda's collection of articles provides different perspectives on Indian gaming issues such as ethics and economic impact. The articles originated in such publications as GQ, Christian Science Monitor, and the Washingtonian. Includes a bibliography. - Return of the Buffalo - Ambrose I. Lane, Sr.
Call Number: E99 .C155 L35 1995
Lane writes his book about the Cabazon, California band of Mission Indians, and the landmark case that established the beginning of Indian gaming. The story deals mainly with individuals in the tribe and the historical journey of the Cabazon Indians. A bibliography and index are included. - States and the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act - Pam Greenberg and Judy Zelio
Call Number: KF8210 .G3 G7 1992
(Located in Law-Indian Law & West Stacks)
A synopsis of the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, this report includes the history and the defining law that has affected Indian gaming. A reference section and three appendices are included.
Reference Books
- Native America In the Twentieth Century - Mary Davis
Call Number: E76.2 .N36 1994 Ref
. This encyclopedia provides a history and overview of gaming including Public Law 280, the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act of 1988, and disputes between states and tribes. - Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian - Indian, Barry Klien
Call Number: E76.2 K5 1998 Ref
This resource is divided into four sections: source listings, Canadian section, bibliography, and biography. You can find a list of tribal casinos and bingo halls in section one - source listings. The list is arranged by state and includes the name, address, contact information, and brief description of each facility - Statistical Record of Native North Americans - Americans, Marlita Reddy
Call Number: E98 .P76 S73 Ref
This 1272 page publication is full of statistical data. It covers topics such as history, demographics, education, culture, health, social and economic conditions, business and industry, land and water management, government relations, law, and law enforcement. You can find information on gaming revenues in the United States, gaming revenues by state, numbers of tribes operating casinos per state, annual revenues from bingo, and number of tribal casinos by year started - Tiller's Guide to Indian Country - Veronica Tiller
Call Number: E93 .T55 1996 Ref
. A resource encyclopedia of economic profiles on American Indian Reservations, each profile includes individual reservation location, land status, culture, history, government, economic development, services, tourism and recreation, infrastructure, and gaming. This book is significant for gaming issues since it breaks down the casino economic development for each tribe
Your Librarian |
Joyce MartinDescription
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait