AIS 180 Introduction to American Indian StudiesAIS 280 American Indian Soveriegnty and the CourtsAIS 380 Contemporary Issues of American Indian NationsAIS 420 American Indian Studies Research MethodsAIS 494 American Indian RightsAIS 494 American Indians in Cinema, Arts and MediaARS 498 Material Culture Analysis and InterpretationARS 498 Shaping Native American Art in the SouthwestENG 359 American Indian LiteratureENG 457 Indigenous PoetryENG 461 Native American Women's LiteratureENG 465 Studies in Film/The American Indian in Film and Video: Reel or Real?EPA 691 Indigenous Knowledges in EducationLAW 691 Indian Legal ResearchEarly Childhood EducationARS 498 Native American Women ArtistsHow to Avoid Googling the Same-Old Mojave Pictures: Efficiently Searching for and Successfully Finding Mojave Archival MaterialsAIS 494 Cultural ProfessionalismARS 498/598 Native American AdornmentHST 498 Western WomenAEC 95 Native American CultureJUS 301 Research in Justice StudiesARS 498/598 Museums and Material Culture
American Indian ArchitectureAmerican Indian Child Welfare ActAmerican Indian Economic DevelopmentAmerican Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission SchoolsAmerican Indian GenealogyAmerican Indian LanguagesAmerican Indian SovereigntyAmerican Indian StereotypesAmerican Indian TheatreAmerican Indian WomenAutobiography and Primary SourcesBibliography on RepatriationEnvironmental IssuesFive Southeastern TribesHistorical and Contemporary American Indian GamingReligion and Origin StoriesVeterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix, 1941-1984Oral History - Listening to IndiansOral History Subject GuideOral History Tapes of Ralph CameronPonca Oral History CollectionThe American Indian Oral History Collection
American Indian Manuscript CollectionsCarlos Montezuma Guide to CollectionsCherokee Phoenix and Indian's AdvocateMicroform Publications
This is the "Bibliography on Repatriation" page of the "American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Indian Studies   Tags: american_indians  

This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=3897 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Bibliography on Repatriation Print Page
  Search: 
 

Article Databases

Journal Articles

There are several ways to find articles on-line. Here are a few suggestions.

  • From the Hayden Library's home page, click on Indexes. Under Subject, drag to or type in American Indians, and click on Go. This will generate a list of several data bases. America: History and Life, for example, or Bibliography of Native North America, will list articles in scholarly journals. Ethnic Newswatch will link to news articles in Native newspapers.
  • From the Hayden Library's home page, click on Resources, then on E-Journals, then on E-Journals by collection. This will generate a list of many collections; some will be helpful. Annual Reviews-Social Sciences, CatchWord, EBSCO, and JStor, for example, all have articles on repatriation.

Periodicals

The Labriola Center has a collection of magazines and newsletters, some of which will have articles relating to repatriation. Issues of Federal Archaeology Magazine, and Common Ground: Archaeology and Ethnography in the Public Interest, are also listed in the Ephemera collection.

      

    Internet Sites

    • The National Park Service maintains and updates two websites about NAGPRA:
      • www.cast.uark.edu/products/NAGPRA/nagpra.html This is the National Archaeological Database, containing lists and links to legal documents, guidelines, and lists of inventory from different organizations. Search engines can help locate specific artifacts.
      • www.cr.nps.gov/nagpra/ This site has a lot of the same information, but is arranged slightly differently. It does not have the search engines or the latest lists of inventory.
    • The Repatriation Foundation (which produced Mending the Circle: A Native American Repatriation Guide, listed under books) maintains a website containing scholarly essays, history, and links to other NAGPRA sites, including links to government and museum sites: www.repatriationfoundation.org
    • The Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation, also maintains a site with text of NAGPRA, related regulations, and lists of inventories from Reclamation Districts, at www.usbr.gov/nagpra/

    Caution: Before using the information from any web pages in your paper, be certain that your source is legitimate and accurate.

        
       

      Books

      This bibliography lists reference material dealing with repatriation of Native American remains and grave goods. The resources listed here include material found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center and the University Libraries at Arizona State University, websites, and other research facilities. 


      GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT REPATRIATION

      In 1993, the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA) was passed by Congress to address the rights of Native American tribes, and Native Hawaiian organizations to the human remains, and sacred funerary objects of their ancestors. NAGPRA required museums and institutions to assemble information about their holdings, to make that information available, and to work with Native groups to repatriate remains and sacred objects to them for reburial.

      Ancient Burial Practices in the American Southwest: Archaeology, Physical Anthropology, and Native American Perspectives - Douglas R. Mitchell & Judy L. Brunson-Hadley
      Call Number: E78 .S7 A62 2001
      A collection of essays focused on particular cultures, such as the Hopi, Pueblo, Zuni, and Hohokam.

      The Future of the Past: Archaeologists, Native Americans, and Repatriation - Tamara L. Bray
      Call Number: E98 .M34 F87 2001
      A collection of essays expressing different views on the topic.

      Indigenous Archaeology: American Indian Values and Scientific Practice - Joe Watkins
      Call Number: E77.9 .W37 2000
      Essays on repatriation and related issues, including Kennewick Man, management of particular sites, and global repatriation. The author is an archaeologist of Choctaw descent.

      Mending the Circle: A Native American Repatriation Guide - Barbara Meister
      Call Number: E98 .M34 M45 1996
      Designed as a guide to help readers achieve repatriation of items, the book is full of information about dealing with public and private institutions. Appendices include the text of NAGPRA, lists of collections of Native American art, sample documents, and newspaper articles.

      Native Americans and Archaeologists: Stepping Stones to Common Ground - Nina Swidler
      Call Number: E98 .M34 N37 1997
      A collection of essays and case studies about Native American reaction to archaeology and repatriation, representing the opinions of Native Americans and non-Natives, archaeologists, museum specialists, and federal representatives.

      Repatriation Reader: Who Owns American Indian Remains? - Devon Mihesuah
      Call Number: E98 .M34 R46 2000
      A recent collection of essays about repatriation, by both Native and non-Native scholars and professionals, this book includes essays on the history that led up to the current debates over repatriation. Includes text of NAGPRA.

      Sacred Objects and Sacred Places; Preserving Tribal Traditions - Andrew Gulliford
      Call Number: E98 .M34 G85 2000
      The first 65 pages of this book deal specifically with the repatriation of remains and sacred objects. The rest of the book is about peripheral subjects: use of sacred sites, religious freedom, tribal identity, etc.

      Skulls and Skeletons: Human Bone Collections and Accumulations - Christine Quigley
      Call Number: GN70 .Q54 2001
      Contains a 25-page section on repatriation. The rest of the book is about museum collections, ossuaries, and graveyards in Europe and North America.

      ASU College of Law, Indian Legal Program, and the Heard Museum, present a symposium on NAGPRA - ASU Indian Legal Program
      Call Number: E98 .M34 S87 2001
      The issue of "culturally unidentifiable" remains : course materials, November 30-December 2, 2001, Armstrong Hall, Arizona State University, College of Law.
      (Includes NAGPRA statutes)

       

      Videos

      Bones of Contention: Native American Archaeology - Danielle Peck and Alex Seaborne
      Call Number: E77 .B64x 1998 VIDEO
      Presents several points of view of the repatriation controversy, and covers the history of skeleton collections, as well as paleopathology, and the unique collaboration between the Omahas and scientists.

      In the light of reverence - Christopher McLeod & Jessica Abbe
      Call Number: E98 .R3 I5 2001 VIDEO
      Focuses on controversy over sacred lands, rather than repatriation. The first half of the video is about the use of Devil's Tower, Wyoming, and is followed by segments on Hopi lands and mining and Mount Shasta in Califormia.

      Science or Sacrilege: Native Americans, Archaeology, and the Law - Nicholas Nicastro
      Call Number: E98 .M34 S25 1996 VIDEO
      A 1996 video that presents different, sometimes extreme, points of view, and also critiques the political and administrative use and misuse of NAGPRA.

       

      Ephemera

      A search of the Hayden Library's "American Indian Index" will bring up some interesting miscellaneous items. There are, for example, selected issues of Federal Archaeology Magazine, with essays on NAGPRA. The Labriola Center also holds copies of the Interior Department's draft rules on repatriation. Selected issues of Common Ground: Archaeology and Ethnography in the Public Interest, are also in the Ephemera collection. Additionally, there are newspaper articles, and articles from conference proceedings referenced in the Index.

      Your Librarian

      Profile Image
      Joyce Martin
      Contact Info
      480-965-0298
      Hayden Library 2nd floor
      Send Email
       
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip