AIS 180 Introduction to American Indian StudiesAIS 280 American Indian Soveriegnty and the CourtsAIS 380 Contemporary Issues of American Indian NationsAIS 420 American Indian Studies Research MethodsAIS 494 American Indian RightsAIS 494 American Indians in Cinema, Arts and MediaARS 498 Material Culture Analysis and InterpretationARS 498 Shaping Native American Art in the SouthwestENG 359 American Indian LiteratureENG 457 Indigenous PoetryENG 461 Native American Women's LiteratureENG 465 Studies in Film/The American Indian in Film and Video: Reel or Real?EPA 691 Indigenous Knowledges in EducationLAW 691 Indian Legal ResearchEarly Childhood EducationARS 498 Native American Women ArtistsHow to Avoid Googling the Same-Old Mojave Pictures: Efficiently Searching for and Successfully Finding Mojave Archival MaterialsAIS 494 Cultural ProfessionalismARS 498/598 Native American AdornmentHST 498 Western WomenAEC 95 Native American CultureJUS 301 Research in Justice StudiesARS 498/598 Museums and Material Culture
American Indian ArchitectureAmerican Indian Child Welfare ActAmerican Indian Economic DevelopmentAmerican Indian Education: Education History, Boarding Schools, Mission SchoolsAmerican Indian GenealogyAmerican Indian LanguagesAmerican Indian SovereigntyAmerican Indian StereotypesAmerican Indian TheatreAmerican Indian WomenAutobiography and Primary SourcesBibliography on RepatriationEnvironmental IssuesFive Southeastern TribesHistorical and Contemporary American Indian GamingReligion and Origin StoriesVeterans with an Emphasis on Code Talkers
Native Americans and Education in Phoenix, 1941-1984Oral History - Listening to IndiansOral History Subject GuideOral History Tapes of Ralph CameronPonca Oral History CollectionThe American Indian Oral History Collection
American Indian Manuscript CollectionsCarlos Montezuma Guide to CollectionsCherokee Phoenix and Indian's AdvocateMicroform Publications
This is the "American Indian Genealogy" page of the "American Indian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Indian Studies   Tags: american_indians  

This page is a starting point for all students researching American Indian issues. This guide is created by the Labriola National American Indian Data Center.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=3897 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

American Indian Genealogy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Family History Library

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has set up Family History Centers throughout the world to assist in genealogical searches.  The Family History Library suggests you come with a family tree in hand.  Correctly spelled names of ancestors going back before 1920 provide a good foundation to begin research.  The Labriola Center has a complete list of the Family History Centers in the Southwestern States and below is the address of the Family History Library in Mesa, Arizona.

Family History Library
41 S Hobson
Mesa, AZ
85204
(480) 964-1200

Web Service

 

Books

The following bibliography lists reference material dealing with Native American genealogy.  These resources include material found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries, websites, and other research facilities.  

 A good place to begin when looking into your family history are introductory texts on genealogy.  The Labriola Center has three such books as well as an instructional video.  Census information may also play a key role in your search.  The following material may also be obtained from your local library.

Additionally, the Labriola Center has several books by Jeff Bowen which contain census information and birth and death records for various Native American tribes.

Dawes Roll "plus" of Cherokee Nation "1898" - Bob Blankenship
Call Number: E99 .C5 D38x 1994
"1898 Dawes Roll "plus"--the 1898 Dawes Roll plus Guion Miller Roll information for those that were on both rolls. One can look forward in time from 1898 to the 1906 Guion Miller roll and see such things as a 1906 surname change brought about by marriage, divorce, or adoption. Also ages, addresses, relationships, Miller Roll number, Miller application number, etc. This, in addition to all information provided in the original 1898 Dawes roll. All 36,714 Cherokee Nation citizens of Cherokee blood are included."

Tracing ancestors among the Five Civilized Tribes : Southeastern Indians prior to Removal - Rachel Mills Lennon
Call Number: E99 .C5 L45 2002
A research framework -- Colonial records & research strategies -- Historical & genealogical changes -- Federal records

Dawes Commission and the Allotment of the Five Civilized Tribes - Kent Carter
Call Number: E78 .I5 C37 1999
Getting organized : 1893-1896 -- First try at enrollment : 1896-1897 -- Prelude to destruction : 1897 -- The Curtis Act : 1898 -- Snakes and scribes : enrollment of the Creeks and Seminoles -- Choctaws, Chickasaws, and lawyers -- Deciding who can be a Cherokee -- Allotting land -- Buy, rent or steal -- Townsites and leftovers -- The business of bureaucracy -- Winding up affairs -- Going out of business

How to Enroll in an Indian Tribe - Heather Morningstar
Call Number: E98 .G44 M67x 1993
This volume includes information on why and how to enroll in an Indian Tribe, including blank copies of forms and copies of correspondence.

The Final Rolls of Citizens and Freemen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory - Commission of the Civilized Tribes
Call Number: E78 .I5 U27 2003
This volume was compiled and printed under authority conferred by the act of Congress approved June 21, 1906.

Index to the final rolls of citizens and freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory - Commission and Commissioner to the Five Civilized Tribes
Call Number: E78 .I5 U54 2003 Index
"Compiled and printed under authority conferred by the act of Congress approved June 21, 1906 (34 stat. L. 325)."

Student's Guide to Native American Genealogy - E. Barrie Kavasch
Call Number: E98 .G44 K39 1996
This volume provides information and resources on how to trace your family tree, genealogical records and research, and Native American records and documents.

 

Videos

How to trace your native American heritage - Rich-Heape
Call Number: E98 .G44 H68x 1998 VIDEO
This video will help viewers trace their Native American heritage by discussing how to obtain a Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood, how to obtain tribal membership, how and where to research the Dawes Rolls, and provide internet sites to assist in genealogical research.

 

National Archives

There are also many records in the National Archives in Washington, D.C. that can be used for researching Native American ancestry.  These records include special censuses, school records, tribal enrollment records, and allotment records.  As a general rule, persons researching their Native American ancestry should begin their research the same way other researcher do: (1) gather as much information as possible from relatives; (2) obtain birth, marriage, and death certificates from appropriate state or county vital records offices; (3) begin census research in the 1920 census and work backward to 1910, 1900 and so forth.  Researchers should also read books on how to do genealogical research. Prechtel-Kluskens, Claire. �American Indian Censuses, 1880-1920.� National Archives and Records Administration, Volume 3:5 (1997): 21-23.

 

The Labriola Center has a guide to the holdings pertaining to Native Americans in the National Archives entitled American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications.

Additional information can be found though websites and by visiting facilities which keep genealogical records. 

BIA Genealogy Websites

 

Bureau of Indian Affairs general web page
http://www.bia.gov/
Tracing Indian Ancestry
http://www.doi.gov/tribes/trace-ancestry.cfm 

 

 

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Joyce Martin
Contact Info
480-965-0298
Hayden Library 2nd floor
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip