Article Databases
Microform Collections
- The papers of Carlos Montezuma, 1892-1937 - State Historical Society of WisconsinCall Number: FILM 9616(10 reels)
Microfilm copy of collection in the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1975. - Papers of Carlos Montezuma, 1892-1937: Guide to a Microfilm Edition - State Historical Society of WisconsinCall Number: E99 .Y5 P37x 1975Montezuma’s papers remained in the custody of his widow, Mary Keller Montezuma Moore. Following her death in 1956, the record of trusteeship is interrupted. The collection reappeared in an auction house in Huntsville, Alabama in 1971. Ultimately, in 1972, the papers were purchased by the Wisconsin History Foundation who donated them to the State Historical Society of Wisconsin.
- Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D. [Microform]: Including the Papers of Maria Keller Montezuma Moore and the Papers of Joseph W. Latimer - John William Larner & Jr. WilmingtonCall Number: FILM 85009 reels. Located in Hayden Library Microforms, ASU Libraries
- Guide to the Scholarly Resources Microfilm edition of The Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D. - John William LarnerCall Number: E99 .Y5 M65xThe materials contained in the above collection were obtained from over forty repositories throughout the United States, as well as from more than sixty newspapers and periodicals. Every reasonable effort was made to recover Dr. Montezuma’s statements from the press and periodical literature and to search for lost correspondence. ASUs manuscript collection is mentioned in the guide in addition to those at the Arizona Historical Society, Tucson, and Arizona State Library and Archives, Phoenix,
- Supplement to the Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D. [Microform] - John William Larner & Jr. WilmingtonCall Number: E99 .Y5 P38 20049 reels, Arizona Collection, Department of Archives & Special Collections, ASU Libraries.
FILM 9954 - Guide to the Supplement: E99.Y5 P38 2004
Manuscript Collections
NOTE: Paper guides to the following collections are available both in the Arizona and Labriola collections in the Department of Archives & Special Collections, ASU Libraries. However, full guides from both ASU and the University of Arizona, may be printed from “Arizona Archives Online” at http://aao.lib.asu.edu/index.html
- Carlos Montezuma Collection, 1887-1980 (bulk 1887-1922) - Carlos MontezumaCall Number: MS CM MSS 60Composed of correspondence, speeches, printed material and financial records documenting the life of an urban physician and Indian rights activist. The bulk of the collection deals with Montezuma’s activism from1887-1992. Copies of his periodical, Wassaja: Freedom’s Signal for the Indians, are included in the collection.
- Peter Iverson Collection, 1898-2002, - Peter IversonCall Number: MS LAB MSS-165Contains research materials used for his books on Carlos Montezuma (see above). Included are numerous photographs and copies of Wassaja.
Books
Carlos Montezuma , physician and Indian rights activist, was born near Four Peaks in the Superstition Mountains of Central Arizona about 1866. He was the son of Yavapai Indians, Co-cu-ye-va and Thil-ge-ya, but was captured by Pima Indians and then sold to Carlos Gentile, who gave him his Anglo name. Gentile took him to Washington, DC and then to Chicago, where he received a public school education, and later was awarded a degree from the University of Illinois. He received his medical education from Northwestern University, and established a private practice in Chicago. He founded the journal, Wassaja, in 1916, which addressed issues dealing with Indian rights. He ultimately returned to Fort McDowell Indian Reservation, where he died in 1923.
- Carlos Montezuma - Peter IversonCall Number: E99 .Y5 M6533 1993Here is a children’s version of the Yavapai Indian who became and important advocate of Indian rights, earned a medical degree, and founded the Society of American Indians.
- Carlos Montezuma and the Changing World of American Indians - Peter IversonCall Number: E99 .Y5 M6534 1982Iverson was first to write a full-length biography on this Indian activist. He noted that Montezuma stressed adaptation to the cultural mainstream, an approach that could often stir controversy. He wrote a good deal about his work in the field of water rights.
- Carlos Montezuma, M.D.: A Yavapai American Hero: The Life and Times of an American Indian, 1866-1923 - Leon SperoffCall Number: R696 .M66 S66 2003Here is the most recent of the many publications covering Montezuma’s life. The author has gone into great detail and has included for the first time, original material held by Leon Summit of New York. The material was ultimately microfilmed as Supplement to the Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D.
- Wassaja: Freedom’s Signal for the Indians - Peter Iverson CollectionCall Number: MS LAB MSS-165Chicago’s Newberry Library has the only known original copies of Montezuma’s periodical, Wassaja. Photocopies of issues of Wassaja are included in both the Iverson Collection (LAB MSS-165, Labriola Center, ASU Libraries) and the Montezuma Collection (CM MSS-60, Archives & Special Collections, ASU Libraries).
Microfilm versions are located at
Northern Arizona University, FILM #460, reel 5;
University of Arizona, FILM 6948.
Your Librarian |
Subjects: American Indian issues |




Loading content... please wait
